

News Release

www.njcourts.com

For more information: Winnie Comfort Tammy Kendig 609-292-9580 For immediate release: Feb. 17, 2015

Chief Justice Forms Committee on Domestic Violence

Chief Justice Stuart Rabner has formed a committee to examine issues related to domestic violence cases in the New Jersey court system.

The Ad Hoc Committee on Domestic Violence will bring together representatives from all three branches of government to consider the issue of domestic violence from multiple perspectives and make recommendations to improve the current system.

Chief Justice Rabner said, "The committee will serve as a forum for stakeholders to conduct an in-depth review of our current domestic violence laws and policies, including the interaction of the Municipal and Superior Courts in domestic violence matters, the level and degree of domestic violence offenses, resources available to victims of domestic violence, and education and training opportunities available for all stakeholders. I welcome a report on the committee's findings and potential recommendations."

Assignment Judge Georgia M. Curio of the Cumberland/Gloucester/Salem Vicinage will serve as chair of the committee. The full committee roster is attached.

###

New Jersey Supreme Court Ad Hoc Committee on Domestic Violence

Hon. Georgia M. Curio, Chair

Assignment Judge Gloucester/Cumberland/Salem Vicinage

Senator Diane B. Allen

Jose I. Bastarrika, Esq.

Bastarrika, Soto, Gonzalez & Somohano, LLP

Prosecutor Joseph D. Coronato

Ocean County Prosecutor's Office

Laurence J. Cutler, Esq.

(representative of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers – NJ) Laufer Dalena Cadicina Jensen & Boyd, LLC

Amy K. DePaul, Esq., Trial Court Administrator

Essex Vicinage

Joanne M. Dietrich, Esq.

Assistant Director, Family Practice Division Administrative Office of the Courts

Paris Eliades, Esq., President

New Jersey State Bar Association

Hon. Marlene Lynch Ford, J.S.C.

Burlington Vicinage

Hon. Greta Gooden Brown, P.J.S.C.

Passaic Vicinage

Ryan Goodwin, Esq., Assistant Counsel

Office of Legal Counsel to the Governor

Monica Gural, Esq.

Supervising Attorney Legal Services of New Jersey

Joseph A. Levin, Esq.

Law Offices of Joseph A. Levin, LLC

Jessica Lyons, Esq., Deputy Public Defender

(designee of Public Defender Joseph E. Krakora)

Hon. Julio L. Mendez, A.J.S.C.

Atlantic/Cape May Vicinage

Assemblywoman Nancy F. Munoz

Norma Murgado, Esq.

Chief Municipal Prosecutor, City of Elizabeth

Hon. Thomas M. North, P.J.M.C.

Gloucester/Cumberland/Salem Vicinage

Penny Paparteys, Advocate Supervisor

Providence House

Jane Baldwin Shivas, Executive Director

New Jersey Coalition for Battered Women

Assemblyman Troy Singleton

Jennifer Stonerod, Esq., Deputy Attorney General

(designee of Acting Attorney General John J. Hoffman)

Senator Loretta Weinberg

Charles W. Wigginton, Esq.

Municipal Public Defender, Collingswood Municipal Court

Staff to the Committee:

Amelia Wachter-Smith, Chief

Family Practice Division, AOC

Steven Somogyi, Chief

Municipal Court Services, AOC