SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

CHAMBERS OF LAWRENCE M. LAWSON ASSIGNMENT JUDGE



MONMOUTH COUNTY COURT HOUSE 71 MONUMENT PARK FREEHOLD, NEW JERSEY 07728-1266 TELEPHONE (732) 677-4100

For immediate release: April 23, 2014

For further information contact: Theresa Romano 732-677-4209

Monmouth Vicinage 2014 Law Day Celebration

The Monmouth Vicinage and the Monmouth Bar Association will conduct their annual Law Day ceremony on Thursday, May 1 at 4 p.m. in the General Equity Courtroom, Hall of Records, Main and Court streets, Freehold Borough. Reporters and photographers are invited to attend.

Law Day is designated as a nationwide observance of our country's great heritage of liberty, justice, and equality under law. The Monmouth Vicinage, like communities across the nation, has planned a commemoration of Law Day using this year's theme, "American Democracy and the Rule of Law: Why Every Vote Matters."

Assignment Judge Lawrence M. Lawson said, "At each Law Day celebration, the Monmouth Vicinage reinforces its commitment to the rule of law. In keeping with this year's Law Day theme, we will highlight the role of the court system in upholding the rights of individuals and preserving democracy in our nation."

Former New Jersey Supreme Court Justice Roberto A. Rivera-Soto will deliver the keynote address. Other speakers include Assignment Judge Lawson and Monmouth Bar Association President Peter C. Lucas. A musical selection will be performed by court employee Tarika Jean-Pierre.

During the ceremony, the Daniel J. O'Hern Mock Trial Award will be presented to Colts Neck High School in Colts Neck for winning this year's Monmouth County High School Mock Trial Competition. Judge Terence P. Flynn, who is retired and serving on recall, will present the Monmouth Bar Association Abraham J. Zager Professionalism Award to retired Judge Bette E. Uhrmacher.

Assignment Judge Lawson will present plaques to the winners of the Law Day 2014 Essay and Art Contest, which was sponsored by the Monmouth Vicinage Advisory Committee on Minority Concerns. The winners are:

Shore Regional High School

Milan Genovese

Colts Neck High School

Emma Tucker

Ocean Township High School

John Aydin

Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School

Medha Ponnapalli Joseph Chiusano

Bayshore Middle School

Alexis Colucci

River Plaza School

Hunter Mollo

Amerigo A. Anastasia School

Carmen Salvatore

Lafayette Mills School

Lorelai Waka

Conover Road Elementary School

Sara Grizzaffi Gianna Leccese

Lillian Drive School

Morgan Lee