NOTICE TO THE BAR

ANNUAL ATTORNEY REGISTRATION AND PAYMENT – REMINDER OF MARCH 31 DEADLINE

This is a reminder to New Jersey attorneys of the impending **March 31, 2017 deadline** to electronically complete their annual registration and pay their annual attorney assessments. Attorneys may complete their registration and payment by using the Judiciary's Attorney Online Registration and Payment Center at <u>http://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/attyreg/index.htm</u>. The Center can be readily accessed from the home page of the Judiciary website – njcourts.com – by clicking on "Attorney Registration and Contact Information" towards the top of the right hand side of the page.

Attorneys who fail to register and pay by the March 31 deadline will be assessed a late fee of \$40 and may be declared administratively ineligible to practice law by Order of the Supreme Court. Attorneys who are administratively ineligible are not considered to be in good standing and thus may not practice law in this state. Attorneys who practice while ineligible are subject to discipline.

In addition to the annual registration and payment requirements, attorneys maintaining a plenary or limited license to practice law in New Jersey must certify to the completion of their continuing legal education (CLE) requirements in accordance with Court Rule 1:42. A noncompliance fee of \$50 will be assessed against attorneys who report that they failed to complete the requisite CLE credits by the deadline for course completion. An additional \$50 (for a total of \$100) will be assessed against attorneys who fail to complete their required CLE credits within the grace period provided by BCLE Reg. 402:1 and against attorneys who fail to report regarding CLE compliance at all. Attorneys who are noncompliant with the mandatory CLE requirement are subject to being declared administratively ineligible to practice law in New Jersey. Information on CLE requirements is available at http://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/cle/index.htm.

For questions related to completing the attorney registration, attorneys may contact the

Superior Court Clerk's Office at 609-421-6100. For all other inquiries, contact the Lawyers' Fund for Client Protection at 855-533-FUND (3863) (select option 2) or <u>CPF.Mailbox@judiciary.state.nj.us</u>. For password resets, attorneys may contact either the Superior Court Clerk's Office or the Lawyers' Fund for Client Protection. For concerns related to CLE, contact 609-815-2930 or SCTCLE.Mailbox@judiciary.state.nj.us.

Hon. Glenn A. Grant, J.A.D. Acting Administrative Director of the Courts

Dated: March 21, 2017