## NOTICE TO THE BAR

## NEW JERSEY ATTORNEY ELECTRONIC REGISTRATION AND PAYMENT CENTER AVAILABLE FOR 2016

The Attorney Electronic Registration and Payment Center in now available for licensed New Jersey attorneys for the 2016 registration/payment cycle through the Judiciary's web-based application at <a href="http://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/attyreg/index.htm">http://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/attyreg/index.htm</a>The 2016 deadline for registration and payment is March 30,2016.

Pursuant to the Court Rules, attorneys licensed to practice law in New Jersey are required annually to file a registration statement in a form prescribed by the Administrative Director of the Courts with approval of the Supreme Court and to pay an assessment in an amount determined by the Supreme Court. The Supreme Court has determined that beginning in 2016 all attorneys admitted to practice in New Jersey with a plenary license (Rule 1:27-1) or a limited, in-house counsel (IHC) license (Rule 1:27-2) must complete their annual attorney registration and pay the required annual fee electronically. Paper registrations no longer will be accepted from those attorneys, with limited exceptions as contained within this notice.

Although attorneys may qualify for an exception to electronic registration, the Judiciary encourages all attorneys to register electronically. The Supreme Court has determined that the only exceptions to mandatory electronic filing and payment will be special circumstances, defined as:

- (1) attorneys who certify they have a verifiable medical condition or disability that causes them to be unable to use or have access to a computer;
- (2) attorneys with a good standing status of "Disability Inactive" pursuant to Rule 1:20-12;
- (3) attorneys located in a country or region from which access to Judiciary systems and applications is barred by the Judiciary for security or other policy reasons;

(4) attorneys who certify they are located in a geographic area or a facility where no

access to the internet is possible or allowed;

(5) attorneys who were admitted to the practice of law in New Jersey on or before

December 31, 1965.

In addition to the annual registration requirement, attorneys maintaining a plenary or limited

license to practice law in New Jersey must certify to the completion of their continuing legal

education (CLE) requirements in accordance with Rule 1:42. A noncompliance fee of \$50 will be

assessed against attorneys who report that they failed to complete the requisite CLE credits by the

deadline for course completion. An additional \$50 (for a total of \$100) will be assessed against

attorneys who fail to complete their required CLE credits within the grace period provided by

BCLE Reg. 402:1 and against attorneys who fail to report regarding CLE compliance at all.

Information on CLE requirements is available at http://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/cle/index.htm.

For concerns related to CLE, contact 609- 633-9733 or SCTCLE.Mailbox@judiciary.state.nj.us.

For questions or information related to attorney registration, billing, or exceptions to

mandatory electronic attorney registration, please contact 855-533-FUND (3863) (select option 2)

or CPF.Mailbox@judiciary.state.nj.us.

Hon. Glenn A. Grant, J.A.D.

Acting Administrative Director of the Courts

Dated: January 19, 2016

2