SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

It is ORDERED that the attached amendments to Rule 8:12 of the Rules
Governing the Courts of the State of New Jersey are adopted to be effective November
17, 2014.

For the Court,

Chief Justice

Dated: October 31, 2014



8:12. Filing Fees

(a) General. A fee of [$200] $250 payable to the Treasurer, State of New Jersey shall be

collected by the Tax Court on the filing of a complaint or counterclaim, and a fee of $50 payable

to the Treasurer, State of New Jersey shall be collected by the Tax Court on the filing of any

motion, except as hereinafter provided.

(b) Small Claims. A fee of [$35] $50 payable to the Treasurer, State of New Jersey shall

be collected by the Tax Court on the filing of a complaint or counterclaim when the case is
alleged to be within the small claims jurisdiction pursuant to Rule 8:11. The small claims fee
shall promptly be supplemented, whenever notice is given by the court that the matter is not
within the small claims jurisdiction, so that the total fee paid is as set forth in paragraph (a) of

this rule.

(c) Multiple Causes of Action in a Single Complaint or Counterclaim.

(1) Real Property in Common Ownership. If a complaint or counterclaim in an action to

review a real property tax assessment includes more than one separately assessed parcel of
property in common ownership pursuant to Rule 8:3-5(a)(2), (3) and (4), the filing fee shall be
[$200] $250 for the first separately assessed parcel of property included in the complaint and $50
for each additional separately assessed parcel of property of said property owner included in the

complaint,

(2) Condominiums.

(i) Condominiums in Common Ownership. As permitted by Rule 8:3-5(a)(4), when

properties are in the same ownership and part of the same master deed, if a complaint or

counterclaim in an action to review a real property tax assessment includes more than one parcel




of real property separately assessed pursuant to the provisions of N.J.S.A. 46:8A-26 (Horizontal
Property Act) or N.J.S.A. 46:8B-19 (Condominium Act), the filing fee shall be [$200] $250 for
the first separately assessed parcel of property of the property owner and $50 for each additional
separately assessed parcel of property of said property owner included in the complaint, or if all
of the parcels of the property owner are within the jurisdiction of the small claims division, [$35]
$50 for the first separately assessed parcel of property of the property owner and $10 for each
additional separately assessed parcel of property of said property owner included in the

complaint.

(ii) Condominiums in Separate Ownership. Pursuant to Rule 8:3-5(a)(4), when property

has been assessed separately pursuant to the provisions of N.J.S.A. 46:8A-26 (Horizontal
Property Act) or N.J.S.A. 46:8B-19 (Condominium Act), separately assessed properties that are
not in common ownership may not be combined in one complaint or counterclaim. The filing fee
for each such complaint or counterclaim shall be [$200] $250 or if such complaint or
counterclaim is within the jurisdiction of the small claims division, the filing fee shall be [$35]

$50.

(3) State Taxes. If a complaint in an action to review a state tax, such as sales tax, gross

income tax, personal property tax or others, includes more than one separate state tax pursuant to
Rule 8:3-5(b), the filing fee shall be [$200] $250 for the first separate state tax and $50 for each

additional state tax included in the complaint.

(4) Small Claims. If a matter is within the small claims jurisdiction the filing fee shall be

[$35] $50 for the first state tax or separately assessed parcel of property and $10 for each




additional state tax or separately assessed contiguous parcel of property having the same

ownership included in the complaint.

(d) Matters Exempt from Fee.

(1) No fee shall be paid upon the filing of a complaint within the small claims jurisdiction
in an action where the sole issue is eligibility for any homestead credit, rebate, or refund program
administered by the Division of Taxation or a senior citizen's or veteran's exemption or

deduction.

[(2) No fee shall be paid by a taxing district upon the filing of a counterclaim or any

responsive pleading.]

Note: Adopted June 20, 1979 to be effective July 1, 1979; amended July 22, 1983 to be effective
September 12, 1983; paragraph (d) redesignated (d)(1) and paragraph (d)(2) adopted November
5, 1986 to be effective January 1, 1987; paragraphs (a), (b) and (¢) amended July 9, 1991 to be
effective July 10, 1991; paragraphs (a), (b) and (¢) amended, paragraph (c)(2) redesignated
(¢)(2)(1) and paragraph (c)(2)(i1) adopted July 10, 1997, to be effective September 1, 1997;
paragraph (b) and (c)(2) amended July 5, 2000 to be effective September 5, 2000; paragraphs (a),
(e)(1), (©)(2)(1), (c)(2)(ii) and (¢)(3) amended July 1, 2002 to be effective immediately;
paragraphs (a) and (b) amended July 27, 2006 to be effective September 1, 2006; paragraph
(d)(1) amended July 9, 2008 to be effective September 1, 2008; paragraphs (a), (b), and (c)
amended and paragraph (d)(2) deleted October 31, 2014 to be effective November 17, 2014,




