NOTICE TO THE BAR

WAGE EXECUTIONS AND THE JULY 24, 2009 INCREASE IN THE FEDERAL MINIMUM WAGE; AMENDMENTS TO RULES APPENDICES XI-I, XI-J, AND XII-E

Pursuant to 29 USCA § 206 (a)(1), effective July 24, 2009 the federal minimum wage

increases from \$6.55 per hour to \$7.25 per hour. This change affects the base amount of

disposable weekly earnings on a wage execution under which no amount of wages may be

withheld. As of July 24, 2009, the base amount of disposable weekly earnings increases from

\$196.50 to \$217.50; for earnings paid every two weeks, the base amount increases from \$393.25

to \$435.00; for earnings paid twice monthly, the increase is from \$425.75 to \$471.25; and for

earnings paid monthly, the increase is from \$851.50 to \$942.50.

This increase in the federal minimum wage necessitated conforming revisions to three

Appendices to the Rules Governing the Courts of the State of New Jersey – Appendices XI-I and

XI-J ("Notice of Application for Wage Execution" and "Wage Execution - Order, Certification

and Execution Against Earnings...") as to the Special Civil Part and Appendix XII-E ("Writ of

Wage Execution") as to the Civil Part of the Law Division. Accordingly, attached are those

three Rules Appendices as revised by the Supreme Court to reflect those conforming

amendments. These three revised Rules Appendices become effective on July 24, 2009, the

effective date of the increase in the federal minimum wage. The order adopting the revised

Appendices also is appended to this notice.

/s/ Glenn A. Grant

Glenn A. Grant, J.A.D.

Acting Administrative Director of the Courts

Dated: July 9, 2009

SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

It is ORDERED that the attached revisions to Appendix XI-I ("Notice of

Application for Wage Execution"), Appendix XI-J ("Wage Execution – Order,

Certification and Execution Against Earnings..."), and Appendix XII-E ("Writ of Wage

Execution") of the Rules Governing the Courts of the State of New Jersey are adopted

to be effective July 24, 2009; and

It is FURTHER ORDERED that when an order for wage execution has been

signed by a judge on application to the Civil Part of the Superior Court, Law Division

prior to July 24, 2009 for the maximum amount then permitted by federal and State law,

but the writ is not issued until on or after July 24, 2009, the order shall be deemed

amended so that the writ can be issued by the Clerk for the maximum amount permitted

by federal and State law on or after that date.

For the Court.

/s/ Stuart Rabner

Chief Justice

Dated: July 9, 2009

APPENDIX XI-I. NOTICE OF APPLICATION FOR WAGE EXECUTION

Attorney(s):	
Attorney(s):Office Address & Tel. No	
Attorney for	
Plaintiff(s)	SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY LAW DIVISION, SPECIAL CIVIL PART
v.	COUNTY
	Docket No.
Defendant(s)	
	CIVIL ACTION
	NOTICE OF APPLICATION
	FOR WAGE EXECUTION
Го:	TOR WHOLE ENERGY HOLD
Name of Judgment-Debtor	
Address	
	made by the judgment-creditor to the above-named court, located at acution Order to issue against your salary, to be served on your employer, over), for: (a) 10% of your gross salary when the same shall equal or week; or (b) 25% of your disposable earnings for that week; or (c) the ekly earnings exceed \$217.50 [\$196.50], whichever shall be the least of the earnings remaining after the deduction from the gross earnings of a the event the disposable earnings so defined are \$217.50 [\$196.50] or excution. In no event shall more than 10% of gross salary be withheld or discriminate against you because your earnings have been subjected to attorneys for judgment-creditor, whose address appears above, in writing you you, why such an Order should not be issued, and thereafter the a hearing of which you will receive notice of the date, time and place.
	nd judgment-creditor's attorney, or the judgment-creditor if there is no receive no further notice and the Order will be signed by the Judge as a
after it has been issued by the Court. To object reasons for a reduction with the Clerk of the Co	the wage execution or apply for a reduction in the amount withheld even et or apply for a reduction, file a written statement of your objection or urt and send a copy to the creditor's attorney or directly to the creditor if thearing within 7 days after you file your objection or application for a
CERT	TIFICATION OF SERVICE
certified mail, return receipt requested, to the journal foregoing statements made by me are true. I an false, I am subject to the punishment.	debtor, on this date by sending it simultaneously by regular and udgment-debtor's last known address, set forth above. I certify that the n aware that if any of the foregoing statements made by me are willfully
Date:, 20	August C. I. I. a. C. IV
	Attorney for Judgment-Creditor or Judgment-Creditor Pro Se

[Adopted July 13, 1994, effective September 1, 1994; amended September 27, 1996, effective October 1, 1996; amended July 30, 1997, effective September 1, 1997; amended July 28, 2004, to be effective September 1, 2004; amended July 3, 2007, to be effective July 24, 2007; amended July 2, 2008, to be effective July 24, 2008; amended July 9, 2009 to be effective July 24, 2009.]

APPENDIX XI-J. WAGE EXECUTION

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY	
LAW DIVISION, SPECIAL CIVIL PART	ORDER, CERTIFICATION AND
County	EXECUTION AGAINST EARNINGS
	PURSUANT TO 15 U.S.C. 1673
0	and N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56
Street Address of Court	D 1 . W
Town, NJ ZIP	Docket No
Tel. No. of Court	
Plaintiff	
1 minum	
vs.	
Designated Defendant	
(Address)	
Name and Address of Employer Ordered to Make Deductions	
The annulation is and and to deduct from the association	which the designated defendant massives and to now some
	which the designated defendant receives and to pay over
to the court officer named below, the lesser of the following	
disposable earnings for that week; or (c) the amount, if any, be earnings exceed \$217.50 [\$196.50] per week, until the total amount	
of employment. Upon either of these events, an immediate acc	
earnings are defined as that portion of the earnings remaining a	
required by law to be withheld. In the event the disposable	
amount shall be withheld under this execution. In no event shall	
amount shan be widned under this execution. In he event shan	Those than 10% of gross satury be withhere.
The employer shall immediately give the designate	ed defendant a copy of this order. The designated
defendant may object to the wage execution or apply for a red	
or apply for a reduction, a written statement of the objection or	
of the Court and a copy must be sent to the creditor's attorney	
hearing will be held within 7 days after filing the objection of	
employer may terminate an employee because of a garnishment	· •
Judgment Date	Date
Judgment Amount \$	
Costs and Atty. Fees \$	
Subsequent Costs\$	
Total\$	Judge
Credits, if any\$	
Subtotal A\$	
Interest\$ Execution cost and	
Mileage\$	
Costs of Application \$	Make payments at least monthly to
Subtotal B\$	Court Officer as set forth:
Court Officer Fee (10%) \$	Court Officer as set form.
Total due this date\$	Court Officer
· 	
I CERTIFY that the foregoing state-	
ments made by me are true. I am	
aware that if any of the foregoing	
statements made by me are willfully	I RETURN this execution to the Court
false, I am subject to punishment.	() Unsatisfied
Date:	() Satisfied () Partly Satisfied
D	Amount Collected\$
By:	Fee Deducted\$
(Typed name of signator)	Amount Due to Atty\$
Firm Name:	Date:
Address:	Court Officer
	Court Officer

HOW TO CALCULATE PROPER GARNISHMENT AMOUNT

Less:	s Salary per pay period
	unts Required by Law to be Withheld:
	U.S. Income Tax
(a)	FICA (social security)
(b)	
(c)	State Income Tax, ETT, etc
(d)	N.J. SUI
(e)	Other State or Municipal Withholding
(f)	TOTAL
(3)	Equals "disposable earnings"
(4)	If salary is paid:
	weekly, then subtract \$217.50 [\$196.50]
	every two weeks, then subtract <u>\$435.00</u> [\$393.25]
	twice per month, then subtract <u>\$471.25</u> [\$425.75]
	monthly, then subtract <u>\$942.50</u> [\$851.50]
	(Federal law prohibits any garnishment when "disposable
	earnings" are smaller than the amount on line 4)
(5)	Equals the amount potentially subject to garnishment (if less
	than zero, enter zero)
(6)	Take "disposable earnings" (Line 3) and multiply by .25:
` /	\$x .25 = \$
(7)	Take the gross salary (Line 1) and multiply by .10:
` /	\$x .10 = \$
(8)	Compare lines 5, 6, and 7the amount which may lawfully be
\ - /	deducted is the smallest amount on line 5, line 6, or line 7, i.e.

Source: 15 U.S.C. 1671 et seq.; 29 C.F.R. 870; N.J.S.A. 2A:17-50 et seq.

[Note: Former Appendix XI-I adopted effective January 2, 1989; amended June 29, 1990, effective September 4, 1990; amended July 14, 1992, effective September 1, 1992; redesignated as Appendix XI-J and amended July 13, 1994, effective September 1, 1994; amended September 27, 1996, effective October 1, 1996; amended July 30, 1997, effective September 1, 1997; amended July 28, 2004 to be effective September 1, 2004; amended July 3, 2007, to be effective July 24, 2007; amended July 2, 2008, to be effective July 24, 2008; amended July 9, 2009 to be effective July 24, 2009.]

Appendix XII-E WRIT OF WAGE EXECUTION

Attorneys for Plaintiff		
VS.	Plaintiff,	SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY DIVISION, COUNTY DOCKET NO:
	Defendant.	WRIT OF WAGE EXECUTION
	THE STAT	E OF NEW JERSEY

COUNTY

TO THE SHERIFF OF

YOU ARE HEREBY COMMANDED that of the weekly earnings which the Defendant
receives from employer whose
address is, you take the sum of 10%
of the gross weekly pay or 25% of disposable earnings for that week or the amount by which the
designated Defendant's disposable weekly earnings exceed \$217.50 [\$196.50] per week
pursuant to the Order for Wage Execution entered with this Court on, a
copy of which is attached hereto and Certification of the Court entered in the sum of
\$ plus interest and fees until \$ plus interest and fees is paid and
satisfied, and that you pay weekly to the Plaintiff's duly authorized attorney said amount of
reservation of salary

YOU ARE FURTHER COMMANDED that the employer shall immediately give the designated defendant a copy of this order. The designated defendant may object to the wage execution or apply for a reduction in the amount withheld at any time. To object or apply for a reduction, a written statement of the objection or reasons for a reduction must be filed with the Clerk of the Court and a copy must be sent to the creditor's attorney or directly to the creditor if there is no attorney. A hearing will be held within seven days after filing the objection or application for a reduction. According to law, no employer may terminate an employee because of a garnishment.

YOU ARE HEREBY FURTHER COMMANDED that upon satisfaction of Plaintiff's damages, costs and interests, plus subsequent costs, or upon termination of the Defendant's salary, you will immediately thereafter return this Writ to the Court with a statement as to the execution annexed.

WITN	ESS, the Honorable		, Judge of the Superior
Court, this	day of , 20		
			, CLERK
	ENDO	<u>PRSEMENT</u>	
	Judgment Amount*		\$
	Additional Costs		\$
	Interest thereon		\$
	Credits		\$
	Sheriff's Fees		\$
	Sheriff's Commissions		\$
		TOTAL:	\$

Post-judgment interest applied pursuant to Rule 4:42-11 must be calculated as **simple interest**. As required by Rule 4:59-1, explain in detail the method by which interest has been calculated, taking into account all partial payments made by the defendant.

Attorney for Plaintiff	
Dated:	_ , 20

[Note: Form adopted as Appendix XII-E July 27, 2006 to be effective September 1, 2006; amended September 11, 2006 to be effective immediately; amended July 3, 2007, to be effective July 24, 2007; amended July 2, 2008, to be effective July 24, 2008; amended July 9, 2009 to be effective July 24, 2009.]

^{* &}quot;Judgment Amount" includes amount of verdict or settlement, plus pre-judgment court costs, plus any applicable statutory attorney's fee.