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What Is the Special Civil Part?

Special Civil is a court in which you may sue a person or a business (the defendant) to collect
an amount of money up to $20,000 that you believe is owed to you. If your claim is $5,000 or
less, you may sue in the Small Claims Section. This segment on Special Civil explains how to
file a complaint, answer a complaint, file an appeal and gives general information about Special
Civil. It is not intended to provide or take the place of legal advice or to answer every question
you have about this court. For legal advice about your rights, you should contact a lawyer. If
you do not have a lawyer, you may contact the Lawyers' Referral Service of your County Bar
Association. If you cannot afford a lawyer, you may contact the Legal Services Program in
your county to see if you are eligible for free legal services.

Special Civil is one of three sections within the Special Civil Part Court. The other two sections
are Landlord Tenant and Small Claims. Special Civil is limited to cases in which the demand is
$20,000 or less. If you believe you are entitled to recover more than $20,000, your case should
be filed in the Law Division of the Superior Court.

If you believe you are entitled to damages greater than $20,000, but still wish to sue in Special
Civil, you give up your right to recover damages over 320,000. The additional money cannot
be claimed later in a separate lawsuit.

What Claims Are Typically Filed?
Following is a general list of claims that may be filed in Special Civil:
e Breach of a written or oral contract.

e Return of money used as a down payment.
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e Property damage caused by a motor vehicle accident.

e Damage to or loss of property.

e Consumer complaints for defective merchandise or faulty workmanship.
e Payment for work performed.

¢ (laims based on bad checks

e Return of a tenant’s security deposit.

What Claims Cannot Be Filed?

e C(Claims arising from professional malpractice (for example, alleged malpractice by a
doctor, dentist or lawyer).

e Claims for support or alimony from a marital or domestic dispute.

e (laims arising from a probate matter.

Please remember that if you believe you are entitled to damages greater than 320,000, but still
wish to sue in Special Civil, you give up your right to recover damages over $20,000. The
additional money cannot be claimed later in a separate lawsuit.

Where Do I File a Complaint?

A complaint must be filed in the Office of the Special Civil Part in the county where at least one
defendant lives or where the defendant's business is located. A business defendant is
considered located in a county wherever it is actually doing business or in the county where its
registered office is located. If there is more than one defendant, the complaint can be filed in
the county where any of the defendants live or is located. If none of the defendants live or are
located in New Jersey, the complaint must be filed in the county where the cause of the
complaint occurred. A list of all of the Special Civil Part Offices, addresses and phone numbers
in New Jersey is available on the Internet at njcourts.gov.

Who May File a Complaint?

To sue in the Special Civil Part, a person must be 18 years of age or older. If the person suing
is under the age of 18, the claim must be filed by a parent or guardian. A plaintiff or defendant
that is a corporation, partnership, (any business entity other than sole proprietors) must be
represented by an attorney when the claim is greater than $5,000. An officer, trustee, director,
agent or employee of a corporation may present or defend against a claim of $5,000 or less.

How Do I File a Complaint?

A Special Civil complaint form and accompanying instructions is available in any New Jersey
Special Civil Part Office and are available on the Internet at njcourts.gov. The summons and
complaint can be filed electronically through Judiciary Electronic Document Submission
(JEDS), through the mail or in person at the appropriate Special Civil Part Office (See “Where
Do I File a Complaint?”’). When filing a complaint, you, as the plaintiff, must:

Revised 07/01/2022, CN 11481 Page 2 of 7


https://njcourts.gov/
https://njcourts.gov/

Special Civil Part Frequently Asked Questions

e Give your full name, address and telephone number.

e To ensure proper service of the complaint, give the correct name(s) and address(es) of the
person(s) or business(es) named as the defendant(s) in the complaint. It is important that
the defendant(s) be properly identified as an individual, a sole proprietorship, a
partnership or a corporation.

e State the amount of money for which you are suing.
e State the reason why the defendant(s) owes you money.

e State whether there is, at this time, another case involving both you and the other
party(ies) and, if so, the name of the court.

e Do not provide any party’s *“confidential and personal identifiers” in the complaint or in
any other submission to the court unless specifically required under law, court order, rule
or administrative directive.

e Sign and date the completed form.

e Pay the correct filing and service fees when filing the complaint with the Office of the
Special Civil Part.

* A “confidential personal identifier” is defined as a social security number, driver’s license
number, vehicle plate number, insurance policy number, active financial account number,
active credit card number or information as to an individual’s military status. You can provide
the last 4 digits of a party’s active financial account if it is the subject of the lawsuit and cannot
otherwise be identified.

After you have filed a complaint, a trial date will not be set unless the defendant files an answer
in writing, along with the proper fees, to the Office of the Special Civil Part within 35 days
from the date the complaint was served upon that defendant. If the defendant responds in
writing within the 35 days, a trial date will be scheduled. All parties will be notified by the
court.

If a defendant does not respond within the 35 days, the Court will enter a default. The plaintiff
can apply to the Special Civil Part Office for the entry of a “judgment by default” within six
months from the date that default was entered. After this six-month period, they must file a
motion in order to obtain the judgment by default. Through a judgment by default request, the
court decides the amount of money, if any, to be awarded to a plaintiff because the defendant
did not answer the complaint in time or come to court. You are required to submit an affidavit
and other documents verifying the amount of your claim and prove to the court that the
individual defendant is not an active member of the U.S. military. Proof of military service
does not apply to business defendants. A hearing may be held in court to allow you to prove
your claim where the amount you claimed cannot be proved from your documents. A packet
for self-represented litigants on how to apply for a default judgment is available in any New
Jersey Special Civil Part Office and is available on the Internet at njcourts.gov.
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e [fthe complaint is for money damages caused by a motor vehicle accident and the judgment
requires a defendant to pay more than $500, the defendant must pay within 60 days.

e Ifthe defendant does not pay within the 60 days, the plaintiff may request through the
Special Civil Part Office that the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission stop the
defendant's driving and registration privileges until the judgment is paid. There is no fee for
this request.

Interpreter or Accommodation

The Judiciary will provide reasonable accommodations to enable individuals with disabilities to
access and participate in court events. Please contact the local ADA coordinator to request an
accommodation. Contact information is available at njcourts.gov.

The New Jersey Judiciary provides court-interpreting services. If you need an interpreter,
notify the court as soon as possible. Contact information is available at njcourts.gov.

What Is the Fee for Filing a Complaint?

The costs for filing a complaint in Special Civil are:
e $50 for a complaint where the amount claimed is $5,000 or less.
e §75 for a complaint where the amount claimed is more than $5,000.
e §$5 for each additional defendant.

e The fee is $7 for each defendant served by certified and regular mail. A $7 fee is charged
for one defendant if the complaint is reserved personally by a court officer. Each
additional defendant that you may want a court officer to personally serve is another $7
fee. Make a check or money order payable to the Treasurer, State of New Jersey.

e An additional $100 fee is required for requests for a jury trial by six jurors.

If you cannot afford to pay the filing fees, you may apply to the court to qualify as an indigent
and your filing fees may be waived by the judge.

Can I File an Answer to a Complaint?

If you have been named as a defendant in a case, you must file a written answer to the
complaint with the Office of the Special Civil Part in the county in which the complaint was
filed within the number of days stated in the summons (35 days). You may file the answer
electronically through Judiciary Electronic Document Submission (JEDS), through the mail, or
in person at the appropriate Special Civil Part Office. You also must deliver a copy of the
answer to the plaintiff's attorney by regular mail or send it to the plaintiff (if they do not have an
attorney) by regular and certified mail. An answer packet for self-represented litigants, with
accompanying instructions, is available in any New Jersey Special Civil Part Office and is
available on the Internet at njcourts.gov.
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If you believe that the plaintiff owes you money, you must add a counterclaim to the answer. If
you believe that someone else named as a defendant in the complaint owes the money, you
must add to the answer a cross-claim against that defendant. Finally, if you believe that a party
not named in the complaint owes the money, you must add a third-party complaint to the
answer. When filing an answer, be sure to give the following information:

e The docket number and caption of the case which appears on the complaint.
¢ Your full name, address and telephone number.
e The correct name(s) and address(es) of the plaintiff(s).

e The reason(s) you are disputing the plaintiff's claim. Include the amount of money for
which you are suing, if you are including a counterclaim, cross-claim or third-party
complaint with your answer.

e Do not provide any party’s *“confidential and personal identifiers” in the answer or in
any other submission to the court unless specifically required under law, court order, rule
or administrative directive.

¢ You must complete the summons form if you are filing an answer that includes a third-
party complaint (a new party is being added to the lawsuit by you). You must also pay
the applicable service fees, as the court is required to serve the answer and third-party
complaint, on your behalf, upon the new party(ies) that you are adding to the lawsuit.

You also must sign the answer, and pay the correct fling fees, when filing the answer with the
Office of the Special Civil Part.

If you do not respond to the complaint in writing within the number of days listed on the
summons, a "judgment by default" may be entered against you. Through a judgment by default,
the court decides the amount of money, if any, to be awarded to the plaintiff because you did
not answer the complaint in time. If you have answered the complaint on time, the court will
notify you by mail of the trial date.

* A “confidential personal identifier” is defined as a social security number, driver’s license
number, vehicle plate number, insurance policy number, active financial account number,
active credit card number or information as to an individual’s military status. You can provide
the last 4 digits of a party’s active financial account if it is the subject of the lawsuit and cannot
otherwise be identified.

What Is the Fee for Filing an Answer?
e $30 for an answer.

e $50 for an answer with a counterclaim, cross-claim or third-party complaint where the
amount is $5,000 or less.

e $75 for an answer with a counterclaim, cross-claim or third-party complaint where the
amount is more than $5,000.
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Note: The Clerk will also charge an additional fee of $7 for serving the third-party complaint
upon the new party(ies) that you are adding to the lawsuit.

If you cannot afford to pay the filing fees, you may apply to the court to qualify as an indigent
and your filing fees may be waived by the judge.

How Do I Prepare for Trial?

Interrogatories

The Rules of Court provide for an exchange of information by the parties. Whether you are the
plaintiff or the defendant, questions from the opposing party, called "interrogatories," must be
answered within 30 days from the date you receive them.

Plaintiff

If you are the plaintiff, you must prove your case. Arrange to have available any witnesses and
records you need to prove your case at the trial. A written statement, even if made under oath,
cannot be used in court. Only actual testimony in court of what the witness(es) heard or saw
will be allowed. Prepare your questions in advance. Be prepared to present all records of any
transactions that may help you prove your case. Such records might include:

e Cancelled checks, money orders, sales receipts.
e Bills, contracts, estimates, leases.

e [etters.

e Photographs.

e Other documents proving your claim.

If you are able to settle the case with the defendant before the trial date, call the Special Civil
Part Clerk's Office immediately to confirm that the case should be marked settled.

Defendant

If you are the defendant, you should prepare your side of the case as the plaintiff prepared their
case. Arrange to have available all necessary witnesses and documents to present to the court
on the scheduled trial date. You must come to court at the time and date shown on the trial
notice. If you do not, a default judgment may be entered against you, and you may have to pay
the money the plaintiff says you owe.

If you are able to settle the case with the plaintiff before the trial date, call the court
immediately to confirm that the case should be marked settled.

What Happens on the Day of Trial?

The defendant and the plaintiff must attend the trial according to the instructions provided on
the trial notice. Be prepared to present all witnesses and evidence needed to present your case.
On the day scheduled for trial, the court may help you settle your case through mediation with a
trained mediator or a settlement conference with a neutral third person. This person will try to
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help the plaintiff and the defendant reach a satisfactory agreement. The mediator or neutral
third person is not a judge. If a settlement cannot be reached, every effort will be made to have
your case tried by the judge on the same day.

If you win your case and need information on how to collect your judgment, you can find that
information in our brochure entitled “Collecting a Money Judgment.” This brochure is
available in any New Jersey Special Civil Part Office as well as on the Internet at njcourts.gov.

Can I Appeal?

If you, as a plaintiff or as a defendant, disagree with the court's decision, you may appeal the
case to the Appellate Division of the Superior Court within 45 days from the date when the final
decision is rendered. (The information is available on njcourts.gov) You must file a Notice of
Appeal, a copy of the Request for Transcript and a Case Information Statement within the 45
days with the Clerk of the Appellate Division (located at the Hughes Justice Complex, Trenton)
and deliver copies to:

e All parties to the case who appeared in court.
e The Office of the Special Civil Part from which the appeal is taken.
e The judge who decided the case.

You must pay a filing fee of $250 with the Notice of Appeal and deposit $300 with the Clerk of
the Appellate Division within 30 days of the Notice of Appeal. This deposit may be used to pay

settlement or court costs if the appeal is lost. If the appeal is successful, the deposit will be
refunded.

You also must obtain a transcript (a copy of the record of what happened in court) of the trial.
The request for a transcript should be made to the Office of the Special Civil Part in the county
in which the case was tried. You must deposit with the Appellate Division Clerk the estimated
cost of the transcript (as determined by the court reporter, Clerk or agency preparing it) or $300
for each day or part of a day of the trial. You must file three copies of the transcript with the
Office of the Clerk of the Appellate Division. Questions concerning an appeal should be
directed to the Office of the Clerk of the Appellate Division at 609-815-2950 or to an attorney.
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