Resources

New Jersey Coalition for
Battered Women

info@njcbw.org

National Domestic Violence Hotline

1-800-799-SAFE(7233)
TTY 1-800-787-3224
thehotline.org

National Dating Abuse Hotline
1-866-331-9474
TTY 1-866-331-8453
loveisrespect.org

National Sexual Assault Hotline
1-800-656-HOPE(4673)
womenshealth.gov

Need Help?

Call the Domestic Violence

Hotline at

1-800-572-7233
or your local police
department
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A comprehensive
community
response to address
domestic violence
involving the courts,
hospitals and the
domestic
violence service
community



Domestic Violence
Prevention Act

New Jersey’s Prevention of Domestic
Violence Act permits all victims of
domestic violence to obtain a restraining
order to protect them from further harm if
someone is hurting them.

You are protected under the law if you are
being abused by your spouse, former
spouse, the co-parent of your child, or if
you are an expectant parent.

You also are protected if you are living
with or have lived with your abuser or if
you are dating or have dated your abuser.

A person can file for a restraining order
where the domestic violence occurred,
where the defendant resides, where the
victim resides or where the victim is
staying temporarily.

A restraining order is an order issued by
the court that is intended to protect a victim
of domestic violence. The provisions
contained in this type of order are based on
the circumstances and vary by case.

A domestic violence complaint is most
often filed at the domestic violence unit of
the Superior Court, family division.

When the Superior Court is closed, a
victim can file a complaint at their local
police department.

How to Begin the Process

Without leaving the hospital, you can
obtain a restraining order during court
hours, 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., Monday
through Friday. A social worker or nurse
will begin the process with you and make
the initial contact with the court.

When you file for a restraining order from
the hospital during court hours, a court
professional will assist you over the phone
and over a closed circuit video
conferencing system. An interpreter will
be provided if needed.

A court professional will conduct the initial
interview and assist you in completing your
application for a restraining order.

After your application is complete, you
will appear before a judge or hearing
officer over the video network. This is
when you can discuss your situation with
the judge or hearing officer.

The judge or hearing officer will make a
decision regarding your application for a
temporary restraining order.

If the order is granted, court staff will fax a
temporary restraining order to the hospital
for your signature.

Carry the order with you at all times.

After the Hearing

At the conclusion of the hearing, the judge
or hearing officer will provide you with
additional information about the court
process and other available resources. The
hearing officer will set a date for you to
appear in court to obtain a final restraining
order.

CARRY THE ORDER WITH YOU AT
ALL TIMES. IF THE ABUSER DOES
NOT OBEY THE ORDER, CALL THE
POLICE.

If you need domestic violence services
such as counseling, shelter, crisis
intervention, referrals for legal services and
related information, call the Domestic
Violence Hotline at 1-800-572-7233. The
hotline is open 24 hours a day, 365 days a
year.

Local Resources

NJ Coalition for Battered Women: 1-609-584-8104
1-877-VINE-4-NJ
1-609-292-6766
1-877-658-2221
1-888-576-5529
1-800-273-TALK
1-800-THE-KIDS
1-800-701-0710
1-800 238-2333
1-877-NJABUSE

Statewide Victim Notification:
NJ Victim Witness Advocacy:
Victim Crime Compensation:
Legal Services of New Jersey:
Suicide Prevention Lifeline:
24 Hour Parent Stressline:

NJ Family Care:

NJ Addictions Hotline:

DYFS Reporting Hotline:



