PERSONAL INJURY ARBITRATION STATUTE

2A:23A-20. Personal injury actions; submission to arbitration; amount; consent of parties

- a. Any civil action brought for personal injury, except for actions brought pursuant to the provisions of P.L.1972, c. 70 (C. 39:6A-1 et seq.), shall be submitted, except as hereinafter provided, to arbitration by the assignment judge of the court in which the action is filed, if the court determines that the amount in controversy is \$20,000.00 or less, exclusive of costs.
- b. Notwithstanding that the amount in controversy is in excess of \$20,000.00, the court may refer the matter to arbitration, if all of the parties to the action consent in writing to arbitration and the court determines that the controversy does not involve novel legal or unduly complex factual issues.
- c. The provisions of this section shall not apply to any controversy on which an arbitration decision was rendered prior to the filing of the action. The provisions of this section shall apply to any cause of action, subject to this section, filed prior to the operative date of this act, if a pretrial conference has not been concluded thereon.

2A:23A-21. Tolling of statute of limitations

Submission of a controversy to arbitration shall toll the statute of limitations for filing an action until the filing of the arbitration decision in accordance with section 6 of this act.

2A:23A-22. Arbitrators number or selection; mutual consent of parties; judicial selection

a. The number or selection of arbitrators may be stipulated by mutual consent of all of the parties to the action, which stipulation shall be made in writing prior to or at the time notice is given that the controversy is to be submitted to arbitration. The assignment judge shall approve the arbitrators agreed to by the parties, whether or not the designated arbitrators satisfy the requirements of subsection b. of this section, upon a finding that the designees are qualified and their serving would not prejudice the interest of any of the parties. b. If the parties fail to stipulate the number or names of the arbitrators, the arbitrators shall be selected, in accordance with rules of court adopted by the Supreme Court of New Jersey, from a list of arbitrators compiled by the assignment judge, to be comprised of retired judges and qualified attorneys in this State with at least seven years' negligence experience and recommended by the county or State bar association.

2A:23A-23. Compensation for arbitrators

Compensation for arbitrators shall be set by the rules adopted by the Supreme Court of New Jersey. The Supreme Court may also establish a schedule of fees for attorneys representing the parties to the dispute and for witnesses in arbitration proceedings subject to the provisions of N.J.S.A. 59:9-5. Attorney's fees may exceed these limits upon application made to the assignment judge in accordance with the Rules Governing The Courts of the State of New Jersey for the purpose of determining a reasonable fee in light of all the circumstances.

The Supreme Court may adopt rules governing offers of judgment by the claimant or defendant prior to the start of arbitration, including the assessment of the costs of arbitration proceedings and attorney's fees, where an offer is made but refused by the other party to the controversy.

2A:23A-24. Subpoenas

The arbitrators may, at their initiative or at the request of any party to the arbitrators, issue subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses and the production of books, records, documents and other evidence. Subpoenas shall be served and shall be enforceable in the manner provided by law.

2A:23A-25. Amount of award; written decision

Notwithstanding that a controversy was submitted pursuant to subsection a. of section 1 of this act, the arbitration award may exceed \$20,000.00. The arbitration decision shall be in writing, and shall set forth the issues in controversy, and the arbitrators' findings and conclusions of law and fact.

2A:23A-26. Confirmation by court of arbitration decision; trial de novo; modification or vacation

The court shall, upon motion of any of the parties, confirm the arbitration decision, and the action of the court shall have the same effect and be enforceable as a judgment in any other action; unless one of the parties petitions the court within 30 days of the filing of the arbitration decision for a trial de novo or for modification or vacation of the arbitration decision for any of the reasons set forth in chapter 24 of Title 2A of the New Jersey Statutes, or an error of law or factual inconsistencies in the arbitration findings.

2A:23A-27. Payment of arbitrators fees by trial de novo petitioner

Except in the case of an arbitration decision vacated by the court or offers of judgment made pursuant to court rules, the party petitioning the court for a trial de novo shall pay to the court a trial de novo fee in an amount established pursuant to the Rules of Court, which shall be utilized by the judiciary to pay the costs of arbitration including the fees of the arbitrators.

2A:23A-28. Evidence at trial de novo; exception for reduction of assessment

No statements, admissions or testimony made at the arbitration proceedings, nor the arbitration decision, as confirmed or modified by the court, shall be used or referred to at the trial de novo by any of the parties, except that the court may consider any of those matters in determining the amount of any reduction in assessments made pursuant to section 10 of this act.

2A:23A-29. Costs of trial de novo; exception; waiver

The party having filed for a trial de novo shall be assessed court costs and other reasonable costs of the other party to the judicial proceeding, including attorneys' fees, investigation expenses and expenses for expert or other testimony or evidence, which amount shall be, if the party assessed the costs is the one to whom the award is made, offset against any damages awarded to that party by the court, and only to that extent; except that if the judgment is more favorable to the party having filed for a trial de novo, the court may reduce or eliminate the amount of the assessment in accordance with the arbitration decision, and as best serves the interest of justice. The court may waive an assessment of costs required by this section upon a finding that the imposition of costs would create a substantial economic hardship as not to be in the interest of justice.

2A:23A-30. Rules of court; impact statement

The Supreme Court of New Jersey shall adopt rules of court appropriate or necessary to effectuate the purpose of this act. The Administrative Office of the Courts shall not later than March 1 of each year file with the Governor and Legislature a report on the impact of the implementation of this act on insurance settlement practices and costs, and on court calendars and workload.