SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY BOARD ON CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION

PETER G. VERNIERO, CHAIR CLASSIE M. COLINET, VICE CHAIR H. MARK ELLIS JEFFREY EPSTEIN THERESA A. LYONS DANIEL F. O'BRIEN JOSHUA H. REINTZ RUBIN M. SININS KATHERINE E. SUELL JAMES J. ULIANO MARIA P. VALLEJO



HEATHER JOY BAKER, CLERK OF THE SUPREME COURT WENDY L. WEISS, COUNSEL

> Mailing Address: PO Box 965 Street Address: Hughes Justice Complex 25 Market Street, 8th Floor, North Wing Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0965 Phone (609) 815-2930 sctcle.mailbox@njcourts.gov

<u>Continuing Legal Education Requirement for Lawyers Admitted to the New Jersey</u> <u>Bar in 2025</u>

Every active lawyer is required to complete 24 credit hours of continuing legal education (CLE) every 2 years. Of those 24 credits, at least 5 credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism, including 2 credits of coursework in diversity, inclusion, and elimination of bias.

During the newly admitted lawyer's first full two-year compliance period, within the general 24 credit CLE requirement, a newly admitted lawyer with a plenary license in New Jersey must obtain 16 credit hours in at least 6 of the following 12 subject areas: New Jersey basic estate administration; New Jersey basic estate planning; New Jersey civil or criminal trial preparation; New Jersey family law practice; New Jersey real estate closing procedures; New Jersey attorney trust and business accounting fundamentals; New Jersey landlord/tenant practice; New Jersey municipal court practice; New Jersey law office management; New Jersey administrative law; New Jersey workers' compensation law; and New Jersey labor and employment law. At least one credit of the required sixteen credits must be in New Jersey attorney trust and business accounting fundamentals. A "newly admitted lawyer" is defined by the Board on Continuing Legal Education (Board) as a lawyer who becomes an active member of the **New Jersey** bar for the first time. Newly admitted attorneys with a limited license do not have to take the 16-credit new admit coursework.

A newly admitted lawyer may obtain credit for CLE courses taken after his or her graduation from law school but before admission to the New Jersey bar towards their first compliance reporting period, so long as those courses were taken no more than 12 months prior to the lawyer's date of admission to the New Jersey bar. Attorneys may carry over no more than 12 extra credits from the preceding compliance period into the next.

A nonrefundable \$50 CLE noncompliance fee will be assessed against attorneys who report they did not complete the required courses by the deadline for course completion. A grace period is afforded once the deadline has expired. An additional nonrefundable \$50 (for a total of \$100) will be assessed against attorneys who fail to complete their CLE courses within the afforded grace period or who fail to report regarding CLE compliance at all. In addition, attorneys who remain noncompliant are subject to being declared administratively ineligible to practice New Jersey law. The first compliance reporting period for newly admitted lawyers begins January 1 of the year immediately following admission to the New Jersey bar. For lawyers who were admitted to the New Jersey bar in 2025, your CLE requirement will begin on January 1, 2026. Newly admitted lawyers are automatically assigned to a compliance reporting group based on their birth month.

<u>Compliance Reporting Group 1:</u> If your birthday is between January 1 and June 30, you are in Compliance Reporting Group 1 and will report the completion of the required credits in the annual attorney registration and billing process in even-numbered years. Newly admitted lawyers in Group 1 must obtain 24 credit hours by December 31, 2027 and will certify compliance in the 2028 annual attorney registration and billing process. At least 5 credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism, including 2 credits of coursework in diversity, inclusion, and elimination of bias and 16 credits must be in at least 6 of the 12 New Jersey specific subject areas for newly admitted lawyers. Of the sixteen required credits, at least 1 credit must be in New Jersey attorney trust and business accounting fundamentals. The balance of credits may be in any legal, judicial, or other educational activity accredited by the Board or another mandatory CLE jurisdiction.

<u>Compliance Reporting Group 2:</u> If your birthday is between July 1 and December 31, you are in Compliance Reporting Group 2 and will report the completion of credits in the annual attorney registration and billing process in odd-numbered years. Newly admitted lawyers in Group 2 will have a one-year transitional reporting period and must obtain 12 credit hours by December 31, 2026. At least 2.5 credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism, including 1 credit of coursework in diversity, inclusion, and elimination of bias. You will certify compliance in the 2027 annual attorney registration and billing process. Your next compliance reporting period will begin on January 1, 2027 and end on December 31, 2028 and you will be required to obtain 24 credits and meet the New Jersey newly admitted attorney requirement. At least 5 credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism, including 2 credits of coursework in diversity, inclusion, and elimination of bias and 16 credits must be in at least 6 of the 12 New Jersey specific subject areas for newly admitted lawyers. Of the sixteen required credits, at least 1 credit must be in New Jersey attorney trust and business accounting fundamentals. The balance of credits may be in any legal, judicial, or other educational activity accredited by the Board or another mandatory CLE jurisdiction.

The chart below may assist you in determining your CLE requirement for your first two compliance reporting periods based on your date of plenary admission to the New Jersey bar and your compliance group. Newly admitted lawyers with a limited license may use this chart but are not required to meet the 16-credit new-admit coursework.

Compliance Reporting Group 1 (birthdays from January 1 through June 30)					
Year Admitted	Requirement Begins	First Compliance Reporting Period	Second Compliance Reporting Period		
2025	January 1, 2026	24 credits completed by 12/31/27 **Must complete new-admit requirement	24 credits completed by 12/31/29		

Compliance Reporting Group 2 (birthdays from July 1 through December 31)					
Year Admitted	Requirement Begins	First Compliance Reporting Period	Second Compliance Reporting Period		
2025	January 1, 2026	12 credits completed by 12/31/26 *Transitional reporting period	24 credits completed by 12/31/28 **Must complete new-admit requirement		

*Transitional reporting period means that you have a one-year period to obtain 12 credits. At least 2.5 of the credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism, including 1 credit of coursework in diversity, inclusion, and elimination of bias. The balance of credits may be in any legal, judicial, or other educational activity accredited by the Board or another mandatory CLE jurisdiction.

**Must complete new admit requirement means that during this 2-year reporting period you must obtain 24 credits. At least 5 credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism, including 2 credits of coursework in diversity, inclusion, and elimination of bias and 16 credits must be in at least 6 of the 12 New Jersey specific subject areas for newly admitted lawyers. Of the sixteen required credits, at least 1 credit must be in New Jersey attorney trust and business accounting fundamentals. The balance of credits may be in any legal, judicial, or other educational activity accredited by the Board or another mandatory CLE jurisdiction.