
RULE 6:7. PROCESS TO ENFORCE JUDGMENTS 
 
6:7-1. Requests for Issuance of Writs of Execution; Contents of Writs of Execution 
and Other Process for the Enforcement of Judgments; Notice to Debtor; Claim for 
Exemption; Warrant of Removal; Enforcement of Consent Judgments and 
Stipulations of Settlement in Tenancy Actions; Writs of Possession 
 

(a) Requests for Issuance; Intention to Return. All requests for issuance of writs 
of execution and other process for the enforcement of judgments shall be made in writing 
to the clerk at the principal location of the court.  A request for the issuance of a writ of 
execution against goods and chattels shall be accompanied by a statement of the amount 
due and shall be issued by the clerk in the form set forth in Appendix XI-H.  A request for 
the issuance of a wage execution shall be accompanied by a certification of the amount 
due and shall be issued by the clerk who may affix the designated judge’s electronic 
signature thereon for uncontested wages using the form set forth in Appendix XI-J.  The 
statement or certification of the amount due shall include the amount of the judgment, 
subsequent costs that have accrued, any credits for partial payments since entry of the 
judgment, and a detailed explanation of the method by which interest accrued subsequent 
to the judgment has been calculated, taking into account all partial payments made by 
the judgment-debtor.  The court officer shall give to the judgment-creditor or judgment-
creditor's attorney at least 30 days' notice of an intention to return a wage execution or 
an unexpired writ of execution, marked unsatisfied or partially satisfied and may so return 
the writ unless further instructions are furnished within that time period. 
 

(b) Contents of Writs of Execution and Other Process for the Enforcement of 
Judgments.  All writs of execution and other process for the enforcement of judgments 
shall provide that any levy pursuant thereto shall exclude:   
 

(1) all funds in an account of the debtor with a bank or other financial 
institution, if all deposits into the account during the 90 days immediately prior to service 
of the writ were electronic deposits, made on a recurring basis, of funds identifiable by 
the bank or other financial institution as exempt from execution, levy or attachment under 
New Jersey or federal law, and 
 

(2) all funds deposited electronically in an account of the debtor with a 
bank or other financial institution during the two months immediately prior to the account 
review undertaken by the bank or other financial institution in response to the writ that are 
identifiable by the bank or other financial institution as exempt from execution, levy or 
attachment under New Jersey or federal law. 
 

(c) Notice to Debtor.  The provisions of R. 4:59-1(h) respecting notice to debtor, 
exemption claims and deferment of turnover and sales of assets shall apply to all writs of 
execution issued by the Law Division, Special Civil Part, except that a copy of the Notice 
to Debtor shall not be filed by the levying officer with the clerk of the court after a levy on 
a bank account. The notice to debtor shall be in the form prescribed by Appendix VI to 
these rules. 



 
(d) Warrant of Removal; Issuance, Execution.  No warrant of removal shall 

issue until the expiration of three business days after entry of a judgment for possession, 
except that a warrant shall be issued within two days from the date of the judgment in the 
case of a seasonal tenancy subject to N.J.S.A. 2A:42-10.17. A warrant of removal shall 
not be executed earlier than the third business day after service on a residential tenant.  
If a judgment for possession is entered in a summary action for the recovery of premises 
and the landlord fails to apply in writing for a warrant of removal within 30 days after the 
entry of the judgment, or if the warrant is not executed within 30 days of its issuance, such 
warrant shall not thereafter be issued or executed, as the case may be, except on 
application to the court and written notice to the tenant served at least seven days prior 
thereto by simultaneously mailing such notice by both certified and ordinary mail to the 
tenant or by ordinary mail to the tenant’s attorney, if any; provided, however, that either 
30 day period may be tolled for the duration of any order for orderly removal or any other 
court initiated stay, extended by court order or written agreement executed by the parties 
and filed with the clerk.  For purposes of this rule, entry of judgment shall be defined as 
the date upon which the right to request a warrant for removal accrues. 
 

(e) Enforcement of Consent Judgments and Stipulations of Settlement in 
Tenancy Actions.  A request to enforce a settlement agreement or consent judgment in a 
tenancy action shall be by certification. It must state the facts upon which the claim of 
breach is based and the desired relief. The certification must be filed with the clerk and a 
copy must be sent to the adverse party and the adverse party's attorney, if any, by 
ordinary mail or alternatively, if directed to a tenant, by posting on the door of the 
premises. 
 

(f) Writs of Possession.  Orders and writs of possession in summary actions 
for the possession of real property filed pursuant to R. 6:1-2(a)(4) shall be issued to the 
sheriff, except that in cases brought by a tenant against a landlord pursuant to N.J.S.A. 
2A:39-1 et seq., orders and writs may be issued to a Special Civil Part Officer. 
 

Note: Source – R.R. 7:11-1; former rule redesignated as paragraph (a) and paragraph (b) 
adopted and caption amended July 16, 1981 to be effective September 14, 1981; paragraph (b) amended 
November 1, 1985 to be effective January 2, 1986; caption amended and paragraph (c) adopted November 
7, 1988 to be effective January 2, 1989; paragraphs (b) and (c) amended July 14, 1992 to be effective 
September 1, 1992; caption and paragraph (c), caption and text, amended July 13, 1994 to be effective 
September 1, 1994; paragraph (a) caption and text amended June 28, 1996 to be effective September 1, 
1996; caption amended and paragraph (d) adopted July 18, 2001 to be effective November 1, 2001; 
paragraph (c) amended September 14, 2004 to be effective immediately; paragraph (a) amended July 27, 
2006 to be effective September 1, 2006; caption amended, former paragraph (b) redesignated as paragraph 
(c) and amended, former paragraphs (c) and (d) redesignated as paragraphs (d) and (e), and new 
paragraph (b) caption and text adopted July 23, 2010 to be effective September 1, 2010; subparagraph 
(b)(2) amended May 17, 2011 to be effective immediately; caption amended, paragraph (c) amended, and 
new paragraph (f) adopted July 19, 2012 to be effective September 4, 2012; paragraph (d) amended July 
22, 2014 to be effective September1, 2014; paragraph (a) amended August 1, 2016 to be effective 
September 1, 2016; paragraph (a) and (d) amended July 31, 2020 to be effective September 1, 2020. 
 
 
 



6:7-2. Orders for Discovery; Information Subpoenas 
 

(a) Order for Discovery. The court may, upon the filing by the judgment creditor 
or a successor in interest (if that interest appears of record) of a petition verified by the 
judgment creditor or the creditor's agent or attorney stating the amount due on the 
judgment, make an order, upon good cause shown, requiring any person who may 
possess information concerning property of the judgment debtor to appear before the 
attorney for the judgment creditor or any other person authorized to administer an oath 
and make discovery under oath concerning that property at a time and place therein 
specified. The location specified shall be in the county where the person to be deposed 
lives or works. 
 

No more than one appearance of any such person may be required without further 
court order. The time and place specified in the order shall not be changed without the 
written consent of the person to be deposed or upon further order of the court. 
 

(b) Information Subpoena 
 

(1) To Judgment Debtor.  An information subpoena may be served upon 
the judgment debtor, without leave of court, accompanied by an original and copy of 
written questions and a prepaid, addressed return envelope. The information subpoena 
and written questions shall be in the form and limited to those set forth in Appendix XI-L 
to these Rules. Answers shall be made in writing, under oath or certification, by the person 
upon whom served, if an individual, or by an officer, director, agent or employee having 
the information sought, if a corporation, partnership or sole proprietorship. The original 
subpoena, with the answers to the written questions annexed thereto shall be returned to 
the judgment creditor, if pro se, or judgment creditor's attorney within 14 days after service 
thereof. 
 

An information subpoena shall not be served on a judgment debtor more frequently 
than once in any six-month period without leave of court. 
 

(2) To Other Person or Entity. An information subpoena may be served 
upon banking institutions possibly used by the judgment-debtor without leave of court or 
upon possible employers or account-debtors (who are business entities) of the judgment-
debtor upon ex parte application, supported by certification, and court order, if the 
judgment-debtor has failed to fully answer an information subpoena served pursuant to 
subparagraph (1) within 21 days of service. The application shall be granted if the court 
determines that the information subpoena is reasonably necessary to effectuate a post-
judgment judicial remedy and that the party receiving the subpoena may have in their 
possession information about the debtor that will assist the creditor in collecting the 
judgment. The information subpoena shall be accompanied by an original and copy of 
written questions and a prepaid, addressed return envelope. The information subpoena 
and written questions shall be in the form and limited to those set forth in Appendix XI-R 
to these Rules, except that an information subpoena served upon a banking institution 
shall contain a certification by the judgment-creditor or the creditor's attorney that the 



debtor has failed to fully answer an information subpoena served pursuant to R. 6:7-
2(b)(1) within 21 days of service, that the information subpoena is reasonably necessary 
to effectuate a post-judgment judicial remedy, and that the bank may have in its 
possession information about the debtor that will assist the creditor in collecting the 
judgment. Answers shall be made in writing, under oath or certification, by the person 
served, if an individual, or by an officer, director, agent or employee having the information 
sought, if a corporation, partnership or sole proprietorship. The original subpoena, with 
the answers to the written questions annexed thereto, shall be returned to the judgment 
creditor, if pro se, or judgment creditor's attorney within 14 days after service thereof. 
 

(c) Service of Proceedings.  A copy of the order for discovery as provided in 
paragraph (a) of this rule shall be served personally or by registered or certified mail, 
return receipt requested, and simultaneously by regular mail, at least 10 days before 
thedate for appearance fixed therein. The information subpoena, as provided for in 
paragraph (b) of this rule shall be served personally or by registered or certified mail, 
return receipt requested, and simultaneously by regular mail. 
 

Service of an order for discovery or an information subpoena shall be effective as 
set forth in R. 6:2-3(d)(4). Upon completion of service, the failure to comply with an 
information subpoena shall be treated as a failure to comply with an order for discovery 
entered in accordance with paragraph (a) of this rule. 
 

(d) Enforcement Against Other Person or Entity. Proceedings to seek relief 
pursuant to R. 1:10-3, when a person who is not a party fails to obey an order for discovery 
or an information subpoena, may be commenced by order to show cause or notice of 
motion. 
 

(e) Enforcement by Motion. Proceedings to seek relief pursuant to R. 1:10-3, 
when a judgment-debtor fails to obey an order for discovery or an information subpoena, 
shall be commenced by notice of motion supported by affidavit or certification. The notice 
of motion and certification shall be in the form set forth in Appendices XI-M and N to these 
Rules. The notice of motion shall contain a return date and shall be served on the 
judgment-debtor and filed with the clerk of the court not later than 10 days before the time 
specified for the return date. The moving papers shall be served on the judgment-debtor 
either in person or simultaneously by regular and certified mail, return receipt requested. 
The notice of motion shall state that the relief sought will include an order: 
 

(1) adjudicating that the judgment-debtor has violated the litigant's rights 
of the judgment-creditor by failing to comply with the order for discovery or information 
subpoena; 
 

(2) compelling the judgment-debtor to immediately furnish answers as 
required by the order for discovery or information subpoena; 
 

(3) directing that if the judgment-debtor fails to appear in court on the 
return date or to furnish the required answers, he or she shall be arrested and confined 



to the county jail until he or she has complied with the order for discovery or information 
subpoena; 
 

(4) directing the judgment-debtor, if he or she fails to appear in court on 
the return date, to pay the judgment-creditor's attorney fees, if any, in connection with the 
motion to enforce litigant's rights; and 
 

(5) granting such other relief as may be appropriate. 
 

The notice of motion shall also state, in the case of an information subpoena, that 
the court appearance may be avoided by furnishing to the judgment-creditor written 
answers to the information subpoena and questionnaire at least 3 days before the return 
date. 
 

(f) Order to Enforce Litigant's Rights. If the judgment-debtor has failed to 
appear in court on the return date and the court enters an order to enforce litigant's rights, 
it shall be in the form set forth in Appendix XI-O to these Rules and shall state that upon 
the judgment-debtor's failure, within 10 days of the certified date of mailing or personal 
service of the order, to comply with the information subpoena or discovery order, the court 
may issue an arrest warrant. The judgment-creditor shall serve a copy of the signed order 
upon the judgment-debtor either personally or by mailing it simultaneously by regular and 
certified mail, return receipt requested. The date of mailing or personal service shall be 
certified on the order. 
 

(g) Warrant for Arrest. Upon the judgment-creditor's certification, in the form set 
forth in Appendix XI-P to these Rules, that a copy of the signed order to enforce litigant's 
rights has been served upon the judgment-debtor as provided in this rule, that 10 days 
have elapsed and that there has been no compliance with the information subpoena or 
discovery order, the court may issue an arrest warrant. If the judgment debtor is to be 
arrested in a county other than the one in which the judgment was entered, the warrant 
shall be issued directly to a Special Civil Part Officer or the Sheriff of the county where 
the judgment debtor is to be arrested, and the warrant shall have annexed to it copies of 
the order to enforce litigant's rights and the certification in support of the application for 
the warrant. The warrant shall be in the form set forth in Appendix XI-Q to these Rules 
and, except for good cause shown and upon such other terms as the court may direct, 
shall be executed by a Special Civil Part Officer or Sheriff only between the hours of 7:30 
a.m. and 3:00 p.m. on a day when the court is in session. If the notice of motion and order 
to enforce litigant's rights were served on the judgment-debtor by mail, the warrant may 
be executed only at the address to which they were sent. In all cases the arrested 
judgment-debtor shall promptly be brought before a judge of the Superior Court in the 
county where the judgment-debtor is arrested and released upon compliance with the 
order for discovery or information subpoena. When the judgment-debtor has been 
arrested for failure to answer an information subpoena, the clerk shall furnish the 
judgment-debtor with a blank form containing the questions attached to the information 
subpoena, as set forth in Appendix XI-L to these Rules. 
 



 (h) Execution of Warrants by Special Civil Part Officers and Sheriffs.  A warrant 
may be directed to the sheriff in the first instance, but a warrant directed to a Special Civil 
Part Officer shall remain with the Officer for execution for six months, at the conclusion of 
which the Officer shall furnish a certification of his or her efforts to serve the warrant and 
the judgment creditor may apply ex parte for an order directing the issuance of a warrant 
to the sheriff. 
 

(i) Expiration of Unserved Warrants.  If the warrant for arrest is not executed 
within 24 months after the date of the entry of the order authorizing it, both the order and 
the warrant shall be deemed to have expired and to be of no further effect. 
 

Note: Source — R.R. 7:11-3(a)(b), 7:11-4. Paragraph (a) amended June 29, 1973 to be effective 
September 10, 1973; paragraph (a) amended July 17, 1975 to be effective September 8, 1975; amended 
July 21, 1980 to be effective September 8, 1980; caption amended, paragraph (a) caption and text 
amended, paragraph (b) adopted and former paragraph (b) amended and redesignated as paragraph (c) 
June 29, 1990 to be effective September 4, 1990; paragraph (a) amended and paragraphs (d), (e) and (f) 
adopted July 14, 1992 to be effective September 1, 1992; paragraphs (b), (d), (e) and (f) amended July 13, 
1994 to be effective September 1, 1994; former paragraph (b) redesignated as subparagraph (b)(1), 
subparagraph (b)(2) adopted, paragraph (c) amended, paragraph (d) adopted, former paragraph (d) 
amended and redesignated as paragraph (e), former paragraphs (e) and (f) redesignated as paragraphs 
(f) and (g) June 28, 1996 to be effective September 1, 1996; subparagraph (b)(2) and paragraph (g) 
amended July 10, 1998 to be effective September 1, 1998; paragraph (h) adopted July 5, 2000 to be 
effective September 5, 2000; new paragraph (h) added, and former paragraph (h) redesignated as 
paragraph (i) July 12, 2002 to be effective September 3, 2002; paragraphs (f) and (g) amended July 28, 
2004 to be effective September 1, 2004; paragraph (g) amended July 19, 2012 to be effective September 
4, 2012; paragraph (f) amended July 27, 2018 to be effective September 1, 2018. 
 
 
 
6:7-3. Wage Executions; Notice, Order, Hearing; Accrual of Interest, Credits and 
Costs 
 

(a) Notice, Order, Hearing.  The provisions of R. 4:59-1(e) (wage executions) 
are applicable to the Special Civil Part, except as otherwise provided by R. 6:7-1(a) and 
except that the judgment-debtor shall notify the Office of the Special Civil Part by filing in 
the county in which the execution originated and the judgment-creditor in writing within 
10 days after service of the notice of any reasons why the order should not be entered 
and the judgment-creditor may waive in writing the right to appear at the hearing on the 
objection and rely on the papers. 
 

(b) Accrual of Interest.  The judgment creditor or the judgment creditor's 
attorney who seeks to recover interest that has accrued subsequent to issuance of the 
execution must file an affidavit or certification with the Office of the Special Civil Part 
setting forth the amount of accrued interest.  A copy of the affidavit or certification shall 
be served personally or by certified mail on the judgment debtor's employer by the 
judgment creditor or the judgment creditor’s attorney.  A copy of the affidavit or 
certification shall be sent by ordinary mail by the judgment creditor or judgment creditor’s 
attorney to the judgment debtor at the judgment debtor's last known address and to the 
court officer who served the execution on the judgment debtor's employer.  The affidavit 



or certification shall state that the interest and the court officer fees thereon have been 
imposed pursuant to R. 4:42-11 and must be collected in accordance with same by the 
employer. The court officer shall give the judgment creditor or judgment creditor's attorney 
at least 30 days' notice of intention to return the wage execution. The affidavit or 
certification shall be filed with the Office of the Special Civil Part prior to the return of the 
wage execution by the court officer. An affidavit or certification filed subsequent to the 
return of the wage execution shall be returned by the Office of the Special Civil Part to 
the judgment creditor or judgment creditor’s attorney with a notation or notice that the 
wage execution has been returned. 
 

(c) Accrual of Credits and Costs.  The judgment creditor or the judgment 
creditor's attorney who seeks to amend an active wage execution to adjust for credits 
received or to recover taxed costs set forth in R. 1:43 that may have accrued subsequent 
to issuance of the wage execution must file an affidavit or certification with the Office of 
the Special Civil Part setting forth the amount of credits received or costs accrued. A copy 
of the affidavit or certification shall be served personally or by certified mail on the 
judgment debtor’s employer by the judgment creditor or attorney.  A copy of the affidavit 
or certification shall be sent by ordinary mail by the judgment creditor or judgment 
creditor’s attorney to the judgment debtor at the judgment debtor’s last known address 
and to the court officer who served the wage execution on the judgment debtor’s 
employer. An affidavit or certification filed subsequent to the return of the wage execution 
shall be returned by the Office of the Special Civil Part to the judgment creditor or 
judgment creditor’s attorney with a notation that their request to amend is denied because 
the wage execution is no longer active. 
 
 Note: Source – R.R. 7:11-5. Amended July 7, 1971 to be effective September 13, 1971; amended 
July 14, 1972 to be effective September 5, 1972; former rule redesignated as paragraph (a) and paragraph 
(b) adopted and caption amended July 16, 1981 to be effective September 14, 1981; paragraphs (a) and 
(b) amended November 7, 1988 to be effective January 2, 1989; paragraph (b) amended June 29, 1990 to 
be effective September 4, 1990; paragraph (a) amended July 13, 1994 to be effective September 1, 1994; 
paragraph (a) amended July 27, 2006 to be effective September 1, 2006; paragraphs (a) and (b) amended 
July 19, 2012 to be effective September 4, 2012; paragraph (a) amended March 7, 2017 to be effective 
immediately; paragraph (a) amended July 27, 2018 to be effective September 1, 2018; caption amended, 
paragraph (b) amended and new paragraph (c) adopted July 31, 2020 to be effective September 1, 2020.   
 
 
6:7-4. Chattel Executions; Time at Which Levy Can be Made; Accrual of Interest, 
Credits and Costs 
 

(a) Personal Property Within Residential Premises.  Levies on personal 
property located within residential premises can be made only between the hours of 6:00 
a.m. and 10:00 p.m., unless otherwise permitted by court order, which may be sought by 
ex parte application.  
 

(b) Other Personal Property. Levies on other personal property may be made 
at any time, but a Special Civil Part Officer may be required to levy on such property 
outside the hours of 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. only if the property cannot be levied on 
between the hours of 6:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. 



 
(c) Accrual of Interest.  The judgment creditor or judgment creditor's attorney 

who seeks to recover interest that has accrued subsequent to issuance of the execution 
must file an affidavit or certification with the Office of the Special Civil Part setting forth 
the amount of accrued interest.  A copy of the affidavit or certification shall be sent by 
ordinary mail and by certified or registered mail, return receipt requested, by the judgment 
creditor or judgment creditor’s attorney to the judgment debtor at the judgment debtor's 
last known address and by ordinary mail to the court officer to whom the writ of execution 
has been assigned. The affidavit or certification shall state that the interest and the court 
officer fees thereon have been imposed pursuant to R. 4:42-11 and must be collected in 
accordance with that rule by the officer.  The court officer shall give the judgment creditor 
or judgment creditor's attorney at least 30 days' notice of intention to return the chattel 
execution.  The affidavit or certification shall be filed with the Office of the Special Civil 
Part prior to the return of the execution by the court officer.  An affidavit or certification 
filed subsequent to the return of the execution shall be returned by the Office of the 
Special Civil Part to the judgment creditor or judgment creditor’s attorney with a notation 
or notice that the execution has been returned.   
 

(d) Accrual of Credits and Costs.  The judgment creditor or the judgment 
creditor's attorney who seeks to amend an active chattel execution to adjust for credits 
received or to recover taxed costs set forth in R. 1:43 that may have accrued subsequent 
to issuance of the chattel execution must file an affidavit or certification with the Office of 
the Special Civil Part setting forth the amount of credits received or costs accrued.  A 
copy of the affidavit or certification shall be sent by ordinary mail by the judgment creditor 
or judgment creditor’s attorney to the judgment debtor at the judgment debtor's last known 
address.  The affidavit or certification shall be filed with the Office of the Special Civil Part 
prior to the return of the execution by the court officer and prior to the execution's 
expiration date.  An affidavit or certification filed subsequent to the return of the execution 
or subsequent to the execution's expiration date shall be returned by the Office of the 
Special Civil Part to the judgment creditor or judgment creditor’s attorney with a notation 
that their request to amend the chattel execution is denied because the execution is no 
longer active.   
 

Note: Adopted July 12, 2002 to be effective September 3, 2002; caption amended and new 
paragraph (c) adopted July 28, 2004 to be effective September 1, 2004; paragraph (c) amended July 19, 
2012 to be effective September 4, 2012; caption amended, paragraph (c) amended and new paragraph (d) 
adopted July 31, 2020 to be effective September 1, 2020.   


