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JAMES YOUNGELSON 
Continuing Legal Education Requirement for 2013 Newly Admitted New Jersey Lawyers 

 

Every active lawyer is required to complete 24 credit hours of continuing legal education (CLE) every 2 years.  

Of those 24 credits, at least 4 credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism.  A “newly admitted lawyer” is 

defined by the Board on Continuing Legal Education (Board) as a lawyer who becomes an active member of 

the New Jersey bar for the first time.   

 

Within the general 24 credit CLE requirement, a newly admitted lawyer with a plenary license in New Jersey 

must obtain 15 credit hours in any 5 of the following 9 subject areas during the newly admitted lawyer’s first 

full two-year compliance period: New Jersey basic estate administration; New Jersey basic estate planning; 

New Jersey civil or criminal trial preparation; New Jersey family law practice; New Jersey real estate closing 

procedures; New Jersey trust and business accounting; New Jersey landlord/tenant practice; New Jersey 

municipal court practice; and New Jersey law office management.  Newly admitted attorneys with a limited 

license do not have to take the 15-credit new admit coursework. 

 

New Jersey attorneys are permitted to take up to 1/2 of their required CLE credit hours in a compliance period 

through approved courses offered in alternative verifiable learning (AVL) formats.  AVL format courses 

include videotape, audiotape, on-line internet computer presentations, satellite simulcasts, teleconferencing, 

videoconferencing, internet computer self-study, or other type of remote learning format authorized by the 

Board.  At least 12 credits must be taken live with an instructor in the room.  If an attorney neither works nor 

lives in a mandatory CLE jurisdiction, he or she may take all ALV format courses.  If an attorney is living and 

working out of state and cannot obtain the live courses related to the new admit subject areas, he or she may 

apply for a waiver of the live requirement.  In addition, a newly admitted lawyer may obtain credit for CLE 

courses taken after his or her graduation from law school but before admission to the New Jersey bar towards 

their first compliance reporting period, so long as those courses were taken no more than 12 months prior to 

the lawyer’s date of admission to the New Jersey bar. 

 

The first compliance reporting period for newly admitted lawyers begins January 1 of the year immediately 

following admission to the New Jersey bar.  Newly admitted lawyers are automatically assigned to a 

compliance group based on their respective birthdays.  For lawyers who were admitted to the New Jersey bar 

in 2013, your CLE requirement will begin on January 1, 2014. 

 

Compliance Group 1: If your birthday occurs during the period from January 1 though June 30, you are in 

Compliance Reporting Group 1.  Newly admitted lawyers in Compliance Group 1 must obtain 24 credit hours 

by December 31, 2015 and will certify compliance in the 2016 annual attorney registration and billing process 

either on-line or on the paper form.  At least 4 of the 24 credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism, at 

least 15 credits must be in any 5 of the 9 New Jersey specific subject areas for newly admitted lawyers, and the 

balance of credits may be in any legal, judicial, or other educational activity approved for CLE. 

 

Compliance Group 2: If your birthday occurs during the period from July 1 through December 31, you are in 

Compliance Reporting Group 2 and will have a one year transitional reporting period.  Therefore, you must 

 



obtain 12 credit hours by December 31, 2014 and will certify compliance in the 2015 annual attorney 

registration and billing process either on-line or on the paper form.  That certification must be submitted no 

later than the date the annual attorney registration first billing is due.  Of the 12 required credits, at least 2 

credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism, and at least 6 must be obtained from your attendance at 

courses where the instructors are in the same room as the participants.  In your next compliance period that 

will begin on January 1, 2015 and end on December 31, 2016, you will be required to obtain 24 credits and 

meet the specific new admit requirement.  At least 4 of the 24 credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism, 

at least 15 credits must be in any 5 of the 9 New Jersey specific subject areas for newly admitted lawyers, and 

the balance of credits in any legal, judicial, or other educational activity approved for CLE.   

 

The chart below may assist you in determining your CLE requirement for your first two compliance reporting 

periods based on your date of plenary admission to the New Jersey bar and your compliance group.  Newly 

admitted lawyers with a limited license may use this chart but are not required to meet the 15 credit new admit 

coursework. 

Compliance Group 1 (birthdays from January 1 through June 30) 

 

Year 

Admitted 

 

Requirement 

Begins 

 

First Compliance Reporting Period 

 

Second Compliance Reporting Period 

2010 January 1, 2011 12 credits by 12/31/11 

Transitional reporting period 

24 credits by 12/31/13 

Must complete new admit requirement 

2011 January 1, 2012 24 credits by 12/31/13 

Must complete new admit requirement  

24 credits by 12/31/15 

2012 January 1, 2013 12 credits by 12/31/13 

Transitional reporting period 

24 credits by 12/31/15 

Must complete new admit requirement 

2013 January 1, 2014 24 credits by 12/31/15 

Must complete new admit requirement 

24 credits by 12/31/17 

2014 January 1, 2015 12 credits by 12/31/15 

Transitional reporting period 

24 credits by 12/31/17 

Must complete new admit requirement 

 

Compliance Group 2 (birthdays from July 1 through December 31) 

 

Year 

Admitted 

 

Requirement 

Begins 

 

First Compliance Reporting Period 

 

Second Compliance Reporting Period 

2010 January 1, 2011 24 credits by 12/31/12 

Must complete new admit requirement 

24 credits by 12/31/14 

2011 January 1, 2012 12 credits by 12/31/12 

Transitional reporting period 

24 credits by 12/31/14 

Must complete new admit requirement 

2012 January 1, 2013 24 credits by 12/31/14 

Must complete new admit requirement 

24 credits by 12/31/16 

2013 January 1, 2014 12 credits by 12/31/14 

Transitional reporting period 

24 credits by 12/31/16 

Must complete new admit requirement 

2014 January 1, 2015 24 credits by 12/31/16 

Must complete new admit requirement 

24 credits by 12/31/18 

“Transitional reporting period” means that you have a one-year period to obtain 12 credits.  At least 2 of the credits must be in ethics 

and/or professionalism and the balance of credits in any legal, judicial, or other educational activity accredited by the Board or 

another mandatory CLE jurisdiction.  No more than 6 of the 12 credits can be earned from AVL format courses. 

 

“Must complete new admit requirement” means that during this 2-year reporting period you must obtain 24 credits.  Of those 24 

credits, at least 4 credits in must be in ethics and/or professionalism, 15 credits in any 5 of the 9 New Jersey subject areas, and the 

balance of credits in any legal, judicial, or other educational activity accredited by the Board.  No more than 12 of the 24 credits can 

be earned from AVL format courses. 


