Supreme Court of New Jersey

A Guide to Filing for Litigants without Lawyers

Office of the Clerk
November 2014



Introduction

This Guide gives you basic information on how to
file papers in the Supreme Court. The Rules of
Court, which can be found on the internet at
njcourts.com or at any public law library, set forth the
official requirements. In using the Guide, you will
find that words in italics are defined on page 7.

The Guide is organized by sections. Read the entire
Guide and then follow the procedures that apply to
your type of case. Please note that the filing
deadlines in the Supreme Court are very short. If you
fail to file your papers on time, your case can be
dismissed. If you are a respondent, your brief can be
suppressed, which means the Court will not read your
brief.

The mailing address of the Supreme Court is: Clerk
of the Supreme Court, P.O. Box 970, Trenton, NJ
08625-0970. The Clerk's Office is located in the
Hughes Justice Complex, 25 Market Street, Trenton.
The telephone number is (609) 292-4837.

A. General Requirements

In New Jersey, the Supreme Court is the highest state
court. Cases come to the Supreme Court after a
decision by the Appellate Division of Superior Court.
If the decision of that court is a final judgment, in
most cases the proper procedure is to petition for
certification (See p.2). Ifthe decision is not a final
judgment, it is interlocutory and you must seek
review by filing a motion (See p.3).

1. Format. Although the Court prefers formal
briefs that include a Table of Contents and a Table of
Case Citations, you may submit a brief in the form of
a letter. If you use a letter format, you do not have to
include a formal Table of Citations or have a stiff
paper cover.

Your papers should be typed. If you do not have a
computer or a typewriter, you may submit hand-
written papers. You must print all of the papers
clearly. All pages must be double-spaced and must
have one-inch margins on both sides, the top, and the
bottom.

If you use a typewriter or a computer, the type (or
“font”) size must produce no more than 65 characters
per line, including spaces between words.

You must number all pages. The maximum number
of pages you may have for different kinds of briefs is
discussed in later sections of the Guide.

2. Brief covers. If you are a petitioner, movant, or
appellant, the cover of the brief in support of your
application must be white. If you are a respondent,
your brief cover must be blue. A reply brief cover

must be buff or cream. The covers should be made
of paper that is stiffer than the paper that makes up
the brief.

3. Copies. Except for a notice of petition for
certification or a notice of appeal, you must submit
an original plus four copies of all required Supreme
Court papers. In addition, if you are filing a petition
for certification or an appeal, you must include four
copies of the briefs and appendices you filed in the
Appellate Division, exactly as they were filed in that
court.

Original notices of petition for certification and
notices of appeal are filed with the Clerk of the
Supreme Court. A copy of the notice is sent to the
Clerk.

4. Filing Fees. Unless you have a court order
allowing you to proceed as an indigent, Supreme
Court filing fees are as follows:

a. Notice of petition for certification $250
b. Notice of appeal $250

C. Respondent's brief (no fee)

d. A motion that opens a case $50

e. Respondent’s first motion, if filed $50

f. A motion for reconsideration $50

5. Deposit for costs. If you are a petitioner or an
appellant in a civil case, you must submit a $300
deposit for costs within thirty days of opening your
Supreme Court case. If you have been granted leave
to proceed as an indigent, you do not have to file the
deposit.

6. Due Dates. Each of the sections below lists
specific deadlines for the filing of papers in the
Supreme Court. As a general rule, if the deadline
falls on a weekend or a holiday, the due date is
automatically extended to the next business day.
Also, if you file your papers by mail, an extra three
days are added to the due date — if your papers are
postmarked no later than the due date, they will be
accepted for filing. (There is an exception to the
three-day rule. If the Court has entered a peremptory
order giving you until a specific date to file papers,
you must have them at the Clerk's Office and served
on your adversary by that date.)

7. Proof of Service (By Mail or in Person).

Every time you serve copies of your papers on your
adversaries, you must submit proof of your service to
the Clerk's Office. You can do this in the form of an
affidavit of service or a certification. (See page 6 for
a sample form.)
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B. Petitions for Certification

If you or your adversary appealed to the Appellate
Division from a final judgment, the decision of the
Appellate Division is, in almost all cases, a final one
for purposes of Supreme Court review. Although
you can file an appeal as of right to the Supreme
Court in very limited situations (See page 3),
normally the proper procedure to use is to petition for
certification. In addition to following the General
Requirements in Section A, above, you must submit:

1. Notice of Petition for Certification. The notice
of petition for certification is usually one or two
pages. It includes the caption of the case, the
Appellate Division docket number, and the filing date
of the decision you are seeking to have reviewed.
(See page 6 for a sample form.)

Under Rule 2:12-3(a), you have twenty days from the
date of the Appellate Division decision within which
to file a notice of petition for certification. A copy
must be served on your adversary.

Please note that the time to file a notice of petition for
certification is deferred if you have filed a timely
motion for reconsideration with the Appellate
Division; that is, within ten days of that court’s
decision. The twenty-day period to file a notice of
petition for certification stops on the day you file a
timely motion for reconsideration.

The time to file a notice of petition for certification
does not run while the motion for reconsideration is
pending. As soon as the Appellate Division files its
decision on that motion, however, the time begins to
run again. For example, if the Appellate Division
opinion were filed on January 1st, the twenty days
would begin to run from that date. If you filed a
motion for reconsideration on January 8th, the
running of the twenty days would stop with seven
days having been used up. If the motion for
reconsideration were denied on January 31st, you
would have thirteen days left to file your notice of
petition for certification. It would, therefore, be due
by February 13th.

2. Petition for Certification. The petition for
certification is a formal brief -- or a letter brief -- four
copies of which must be filed with the Clerk's Office
within thirty days of the filing date of the decision of
the Appellate Division. Two copies must be served
on your adversary. There are special requirements
for a petition for certification that make it different
from the brief you filed in the Appellate Division.

a. Format. In addition to the general format
requirements of Section A (See page 1), a
petition for certification may not be longer than
twenty pages. It must include:

1. a short statement of the matter involved;
the question presented;

the errors complained of;

Eal

the reasons why certification should be
allowed; and

5. comments on the Appellate Division's
opinion.

You must also certify that the petition presents a
substantial question and is filed in good faith and not
for purposes of delay.

b. Appendix. The appendix to the petition for
certification must include:

1. the opinion or summary order disposition of
the Appellate Division; and

2. atranscript of any oral opinion by the trial
judge.

In sentencing cases heard by the Appellate Division
without briefs, the petition for certification appendix
must also include a transcript of the oral arguments
before the Appellate Division. (Defendants who
were represented by the Public Defender in the
Appellate Division should ask that office to forward
four copies of the Appellate Division materials and
transcript to the Supreme Court Clerk's Office.)

2. Respondent's Brief. If you are responding to
someone else's petition for certification, you have
fifteen days from the filing of the petition for
certification to file an original plus four copies of
your respondent's brief and four copies of your
Appellate Division briefs and appendices.

The general format requirements of Section A (See
page 1) apply to respondents' briefs, too. The Court
does, however, allow a respondent to file an original
and three copies of a letter relying on his or her
Appellate Division briefs in place of a new Supreme
Court brief.

A respondent's brief may not exceed twenty pages.

4. Reply Brief. The petitioner has ten days from
the filing of a respondent's brief to file an original
and three copies of a reply brief. The maximum
length for a reply brief is ten pages. You do not have
to file a reply brief.

5. Transcripts. Except for transcribed oral
opinions, you do not have to forward trial transcripts
with your petition for certification. If certification is
granted, the Appellate Division Clerk's Office will
forward copies of the transcript to the Supreme
Court.
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6. Grounds for Granting Certification. The
Supreme Court does not grant certification routinely.
In fact, certification is denied in approximately ninety
percent of the cases filed.

Grounds for granting certification include the
following:

a. the matter must present a question of general
public importance that has not been, but
should be, settled by the Court;

b. the matter is similar to another case already
on appeal before the Court;

c. the Appellate Division's decision is in
conflict with a prior Supreme Court or
Appellate Division decision or otherwise
calls for an exercise of the Supreme Court's
supervision; or

d. if'the interest of justice requires a grant.

Please note that certification will not be allowed on
final judgments of the Appellate Division except for
special reasons. (See R. 2:12-4)

7. Court Action. The Court's grant or denial of
certification will be by Order without oral argument.
If certification is denied, the case is concluded. If
certification is granted, the Court may either dispose
of the matter summarily or may set the appeal down
for oral argument. If the Court does not decide the
case summarily, you must send the Clerk’s Office
three more copies of all of your Appellate Division
and Supreme Court briefs and appendices.

If your case is to be argued, you will receive
approximately four weeks' advance notice of the
argument dates.

C. Appeals as of Right

1. When to file. Appeals as of right to the
Supreme Court are proper in very limited
circumstances. Grounds for an appeal as of right
include:

a. A sentence of death in a criminal case;

b. A dissent in the Appellate Division (but the
appeal is limited to the issues discussed in
the dissent); or

c.  When the case presents a substantial
constitutional question that has not been the
subject of a prior appellate decision. Please
note that allegations of constitutional
violations are not automatically "substantial
questions." If the Court decides they are not
substantial questions within the meaning of

the Rules and case law, the appeal will be
dismissed. Rather than have an appeal
dismissed on procedural grounds, you
should petition for certification. If the Court
finds your issues to be substantial, it will
grant certification.

2. Time to File and Format. You have forty-five
days from the final judgment of the Appellate
Division decision within which to file a notice of
appeal. The same Rules that apply to appeals as of
right in the Appellate Division apply to the Supreme
Court. Please remember that nine copies of all briefs
and appendices are required -- including your
Appellate Division briefs and appendices.
Transcripts will be forwarded to the Supreme Court
by the Appellate Division Clerk's Office.

D. Motions

Motions are interlocutory applications. If you are
seeking Supreme Court review of an interlocutory
decision by the Appellate Division, you would
normally file a "motion for leave to appeal." In
certain circumstances, you might also be filing a
"motion for a stay pending appeal" or a "motion for
bail pending appeal." You have twenty days from the
filing date of the Appellate Division order to file your
papers with the Supreme Court and your adversary.
(R. 2:5-6) If you are responding to an adversary's
motion, you have ten days to do so. (R.2:8-1) The
Court normally decides motions without oral
arguments.

In addition to motions that seek review of
interlocutory decisions of the Appellate Division, you
may also need to file motions in cases that are
already pending in the Supreme Court. Examples
would be a "motion for an extension of time to file a
petition for certification" or a "motion to supplement
the record." If your brief will be late, you must file
an extension motion to keep your case from being
dismissed for lack of prosecution. Motions must
follow these requirements:

1. A Notice of Motion This is usually one or two
pages. Init, you state the nature of your request,
such as "NOTICE OF MOTION FOR LEAVE TO
APPEAL" or "NOTICE OF MOTION FOR A STAY
PENDING APPEAL." (See p. 6 for a sample form.)

2. A Proof of Service must also accompany your
motion papers. (See p. 6 for a sample form.)

3. An Affidavit in Support of the Motion. This
can be your own affidavit. In it, you state, under
oath, a short history of the case, the actions taken by
the courts below, and why you should be getting the
relief you want. An affidavit starts with the case
caption and is written in numbered paragraph form.
(See p. 6 for a sample form.)
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A notary public or an attorney can take your oath on
the affidavit. Please note that the Rules permit you to
file a "certification" in place of an affidavit. If you
decide to use that, your document must have the
following words appear just before your signature: "I
certify that the foregoing statements made by me are
true. 1 am aware that if any of the foregoing
statements made by me are willfully false, I am
subject to punishment." (R. 1:4-4(b))

Please be careful to make your statements truthful
and accurate. Also, be careful not to add new factual
material to the case without making a motion to
"supplement the record." Other than considering new
procedural events in the case, the Court's review is
limited to the record that was before the lower courts.

4. A Brief in Support of the Motion. Your brief
contains a statement of the facts, procedural history,
issues, and your legal arguments. As noted in the
General Format section at page 1, briefs must be
double-spaced, have one-inch margins, and be typed
in a size that produces not more than 65 characters
per line, including spaces between words. Your brief
on a motion cannot be longer than 25 pages. If you
prefer, you may rely on the brief you submitted to the
Appellate Division. If you do, you must submit nine
copies of that brief to the Supreme Court. You must
also submit nine copies of your appendix to the
motion brief.

The Court permits the use of letter briefs, but they
still must be double-spaced. Although handwritten
papers are accepted, typed papers are preferred. If
the Court cannot read your handwriting, you cannot
get the relief you want.

5. Copies. You must file an original plus eight
copies of your papers with the Supreme Court Clerk's
Office. You also must serve two copies of the
motion papers on your adversaries. If you are
seeking Supreme Court review of an Appellate
Division order, you must send a copy of your motion
to the Clerk of the Appellate Division.

6. Filing Fees. If the motion starts a case in the
Supreme Court -- such as a motion for leave to
appeal --there is a filing fee of $50. If you have
already filed papers in the Supreme Court and paid a
fee, there is no filing fee. For example, if you had
filed a timely notice of petition for certification and
then had to make a motion for an extension of time to
file your brief, the motion for an extension of time
would not need a filing fee.

7. Indigency. If the courts below have found you
to be indigent, you will be allowed to proceed
without filing a fee if you send the Clerk's Office a
copy of the order finding you to be indigent and an
affidavit from you stating, under oath, that there have
been no substantial changes in your financial
situation since the date of the order. (See R. 2:7-4)

If you are asking the Court to declare you indigent,
you must make a motion seeking "leave to proceed as
an indigent." Your affidavit in support of the motion
must set out your income and monthly expenses in
detail.

You do not have to pay a filing fee on a motion to
proceed as an indigent.

8. Emergent Motions. Sometimes emergencies
arise that require accelerated consideration of a
matter. The Supreme Court calls such matters
"Emergent Motions." Typical examples include
motions for a stay (of an eviction or the suspension of
a driver's license, etc.) or for bail pending appeal.

Before you can make an emergent motion to the
Supreme Court, you must have a decision from the
Part Judges of the Appellate Division. Once you
have that, you should either call or visit the Clerk's
Office for instructions. If it is necessary and
appropriate, you may have to deliver motion papers
to a single Justice for him or her to consider
immediately. The Justice may or may not hear oral
arguments before deciding the motion.

A single Justice cannot grant final relief. If he or she
grants any relief, it is only until the full Court can
consider the matter. Under such circumstances, a
very short briefing schedule may be set. Usually, the
Clerk's Office will tell you what the schedule is.

If the single Justice denies the motion, you may still
ask for review by the full Court, but the matter will
no longer be treated as an Emergent Motion.

Please note that the format and service requirements
for Emergent Motions are the same as those for
regular motions.

8. Court Action. As with petitions for
certification, motions are decided by the Supreme
Court on the papers submitted. When the Court has
decided the motion, the Clerk will enter an
appropriate Order and distribute it to the parties.

9. Motions for Reconsideration. If you have a
petition for certification or motion denied, or an
appeal dismissed or otherwise decided against you,
you have ten days from the filing date of the Court’s
decision within which to file a motion for
reconsideration. The format is the same as for other
motions. You must submit an original and eight
copies to the Clerk's Office and serve two copies on
your adversaries. The filing fee is $50.
Reconsideration motions are rarely granted, so you
should not file one except in extraordinary
circumstances.
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E. Conclusion

Neither the Justices nor the employees of the Clerk's
Office may give you legal advice. If you have
procedural questions about your case, however, you
may telephone or write the Clerk's Office.

Try to write your briefs clearly. Make them as short
as you can. Be sure that the information in your
briefs is accurate. Concentrate on the legal and
factual issues before the Court -- do not spend time
and effort attacking your adversaries or their
attorneys.

If you follow the Rules of Court and the information
contained in these Guidelines, the Court can give
your application the attention it deserves. You may
not win, but a proper presentation will help your
chances for success.
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[Sample Notice of Petition for Certification]
[Your Name]
[Your Address]
[Your Telephone Number]
Supreme Court of New Jersey
App. Div. Number:

John Doe, ;

Plaintiff-Respondent;

V. : Civil Action

[Your Name] ; Notice of Petition for

Certification
Defendant-Petitioner.;

To: Clerk of the Supreme Court
Hughes Justice Complex
P.O. Box 970
Trenton, NJ 08625-0970

Clerk of the Appellate Division
Hughes Justice Complex

P.O. Box 006

Trenton, NJ 08625-0006

[Also list the attorneys for your adversaries or, if they are not represented by
counsel, list your adversaries by their names and addresses]

TAKE NOTICE that [ Your Name] shall petition the Supreme Court for an Order
certifying the entire judgment entered by the Appellate Division in the above
matter on [the date of the opinion of the Appellate Division]. The filing fee of
$250 is enclosed herewith.

Dated:

[Your Signature]

[If the Court has decided you are Indigent, the filing fee will be waived. See
page 4.]

[Sample Notice of Motion]
[Your Name]
[Your Address]
[Your Telephone Number]
Supreme Court of New Jersey
Docket Number: (if known)

App. Div. Number:

John Doe, ;

Plaintiff-Respondent;

V. : Notice of Motion

[Your Name] ; [For Leave to Appeal]

Defendant-Movant.;

To: [List the attorneys for your adversaries, or if there are no attorneys, the
adversaries themselves. Include addresses.]

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that the undersigned hereby moves before the
Supreme Court of New Jersey for leave to appeal the R
20, order of the Superior Court, Appellate Division [use the date the order
was FILED], which denied leave to appeal from the ,20
order of the Superior Court, Law Division, that granted plaintiff's motion for a
partial summary judgment. In support of this motion, I shall rely on the attached
affidavit and brief.

Dated:
[Your Signature]

[The language of the NOTICE provision will depend on the actual nature
and history of the motion you are filing. The important information is the
Appellate Division Docket Number and the specific relief you are seeking.
You have to be clear for the Court and your adversaries.]

[Sample Form of Affidavit]

[Whenever you have to file an affidavit, you should follow this format. You can,
however, use the "certification" language found in the Proof of Mailing form
instead of having your oath taken before a Notary Public or an Attorney at Law.]

Supreme Court of New Jersey
Docket Number: (if known)

John Doe, ;

Plaintiff-Respondent;
V. : Affidavit
[Your Name] )

Defendant-Movant.;
[Your Name] , being of full age, on [his or her] oath, deposes and says:
1. I am the [movant, petitioner, appellant, etc.] in the above matter.

2. [You then set forth your sworn statements in numbered paragraph form.
Remember you are swearing under oath that the information is true.]

3.

Sworn to and subscribed
Before me this

day of

20 .

[Your Signature]

[Sample Service by Mail]

[This form can be used as evidence of your service of any papers filed in the
Supreme Court.]

PROOF OF MAILING: On ,20_, 1 the
undersigned, mailed my [notice of petition for certification, motion for leave to
appeal, reply brief, etc.] to [list the people identified on your notice of petition
for certification] by [regular mail, certified mail, express mail, or hand delivery -
- state whichever method you used].

I certify that the foregoing statements made by me are true. I am aware that if
any of the foregoing statements made by me are willfully false, I am subject to
punishment.

Dated:
[Your Signature]
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Glossary

ADVERSARY Opponent, the other party to the
litigation.

AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE A sworn statement that
you have delivered copies of your materials on your
adversaries; you may also make a certification in place of
an affidavit.

APPEAL AS OF RIGHT An application to the
Supreme Court that is based on a dissent in the Appellate
Division or a substantial constitutional question. Also
occurs in capital murder cases. Applies only when the
decision is a final judgment.

APPELLANT The party who is appealing the judgment
of the Appellate Division.

APPELLATE DIVISION The intermediate appellate
court in the New Jersey state court system.

DEPOSIT FOR TAXED COSTS Should you petition,
appeal, or move before the Supreme Court for relief and
lose, the court may impose taxed costs against you.
Your adversaries will be entitled to receive certain
monies to defer the expense of defending against your
application. Costs are taxed by the Clerk's Office on the
request of a prevailing party. Any monies not used out
of your deposit are returned to you, minus a small
commission that is turned over to the State Treasurer.

EMERGENT MATTER If circumstances require
emergency handling of a motion or other matter,
arrangements can be made through the Clerk's Office to
have the question presented to a single Justice. If the
single Justice grants relief, that relief remains in effect
pending the full Court's consideration of the application.

FINAL JUDGMENT A decision of a court that
resolves all issues for all parties; for example, in a
criminal case, a final judgment is entered after a
conviction and sentence have been imposed on the
defendant. In a civil case, a final judgment is entered
after a jury verdict or the disposition of the case by the
trial court.

INDIGENT One who is unable to afford court filing
fees and related costs. In criminal matters, an indigent is
entitled to receive transcripts at public expense. Except
in rare cases, free transcripts are not provided in civil
cases. A party making a motion to be declared an
indigent must submit a detailed financial statement to the
courts on an appropriate form.

INTERLOCUTORY A decision by a court or an
application by a party that does not decide the entire
case. For example, if a trial court denies a defendant's
motion to suppress evidence in a criminal matter, the
defendant may seek leave to appeal that decision before
going to trial. Such an application would be
interlocutory.

MOTION An interlocutory application made to a court.

MOVANT The name given to a party who has filed a
motion.

NOTICE OF APPEAL If you are claiming an appeal
as of right, the notice of appeal begins Supreme Court
proceedings by placing the other parties and the court
below on notice of your intention.

NOTICE OF PETITION FOR CERTIFICATION
The document that begins a Supreme Court case after a
final judgment in the Appellate Division. It puts the
Appellate Division and all of the parties on notice that
you are seeking Supreme Court review of the Appellate
Division's decision.

PEREMPTORY ORDER An Order that gives you a
specific date within which to file particular papers. No
extensions of time will be granted. If you were to miss
the deadline, your case could be dismissed or, if you
were a respondent, your brief suppressed without further
notice.

PETITION FOR CERTIFICATION The name given
a brief filed in the Supreme Court when a party is
seeking Supreme Court review of a final decision of the
Appellate Division. A petition for certification involves
"discretionary review," which means that the Supreme
Court does not have to hear the case or issue a full
opinion.

PETITIONER The name given to a party who files a
petition for certification.

RESPONDENT The name given to a party who
opposes a petitioner, an appellant, or a movant.

STAY An order of a court preventing an act from
occurring. For example, a party may make a motion to
the Appellate Division for a stay of its judgment pending
a petition for certification to the Supreme Court.

SUMMARY ORDER The Supreme Court may dispose
of matters before it by the entry of an order without
hearing oral argument of the parties. Such summary
decisions are normally entered at the time the petition for
certification or motion is considered, but summary
dispositions can be entered in appeals as of right as well.

SUPREME COURT The court of last resort in the New
Jersey state court system.
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