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The opinion of the court was delivered by  

KOBLITZ, J.A.D. 

 The State appeals from what it views as the illegal  

sentence of ninety days in jail followed by ninety days in an 

inpatient drug rehabilitation program imposed for the fourth-

degree crime of operating a motor vehicle during a period of 

license suspension for multiple convictions of driving while 

intoxicated (DWI).  N.J.S.A. 2C:40-26(b).  Defendant James W. 

French argues that an inpatient drug program satisfies the 

statute because the program is custodial in nature and the 

legislative scheme is intended to foster substance abuse 

rehabilitation as well as punishment.  The State argues that the 

statutory sentencing framework of Title 2C requires a mandatory 

180-day sentence in jail without parole, which cannot be 

satisfied by service in an inpatient rehabilitation program.  We 

agree with the State that the sentence is illegal and, therefore, 

reverse and remand for resentencing. 

 Defendant pled guilty to an accusation charging the crime 

of driving while his license was suspended after multiple drunk 

driving convictions at the same time that he pled guilty to 
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driving while intoxicated, N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.
1 

 We discern from 

the record that defendant has a total of nine prior drunk-

driving convictions, six in New Jersey and three in South 

Carolina.  He has five prior convictions in New Jersey for 

driving during a period of license suspension.  Pursuant to a 

plea agreement, the State agreed to recommend concurrent 

sentencing with 180 days of incarceration and no probation.  The 

judge sentenced defendant to concurrent 180-day terms, ordering 

that he could serve the final 90 days in an inpatient 

rehabilitation program.  She ordered that if he was not admitted 

to a program or did not complete the program, which had to be at 

least 90 days long, he would have to serve the full 180 days in 

jail.  The judge also imposed an additional ten-year license 

suspension as well as the other mandatory penalties.  We granted 

the State's application for an emergent appeal. 

 An illegal sentence may be corrected at any time before it 

is completed.  R. 2:10-3; State v. Schubert, 212 N.J. 295, 309-

10 (2012).  Parties may not negotiate an illegal sentence, State 

v. Smith, 372 N.J. Super. 539, 542 (App. Div. 2004), certif. 

denied, 182 N.J. 428 (2005), and a defendant may not accept one 

                     

1

 He also pled guilty to driving with a broken brake light, 

N.J.S.A. 39:3-66.  He was stopped for erratic driving and the 

faulty driver's-side brake light. 
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as part of a plea agreement, State v. Nemeth, 214 N.J. Super. 

324, 327 (App. Div. 1986). 

In 2009 the Legislature passed a statute, effective August 

2011,
2

 that criminalized the offense of driving with a suspended 

license that had been suspended after more than one DWI 

conviction.  N.J.S.A. 2C:40-26 provides in pertinent part: 

b.  It shall be a crime of the fourth degree 

to operate a motor vehicle during the period 

of license suspension . . . if the actor's 

license was suspended or revoked for a 

second or subsequent violation of [DWI] or 

[refusal to submit to a chemical test for 

intoxication].  A person convicted of an 

offense under this subsection shall be 

sentenced by the court to a term of 

imprisonment. 

 

c.  Notwithstanding the term of imprisonment 

provided under N.J.S.A. 2C:43-6 [providing 

for a maximum custodial sentence of eighteen 

months] and the provisions of subsection e. 

of N.J.S.A. 2C:44-1 [the presumption of non-

imprisonment for a first offender convicted 

of a fourth-degree crime], if a person is 

convicted of a crime under this section the 

sentence imposed shall include a fixed 

minimum sentence of not less than 180 days 

during which the defendant shall not be 

eligible for parole. 

 

Defendant pled guilty to a violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:40-26(b).  

Although defendant happened to be driving drunk when he was 

                     

2

 The effective date of the statute was delayed eighteen months 

to give the Motor Vehicle Commission an opportunity to "take any 

anticipatory administrative action prior to the effective date 

necessary for its timely implementation."  L. 2009, c. 333, §2. 
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arrested, intoxication is not an element of this fourth-degree 

crime. 

N.J.S.A. 2C:40-26(c) requires the imposition of a mandatory 

minimum period of incarceration of 180 days during which the 

defendant is not subject to parole.  "In making such conduct a 

fourth-degree crime, the Legislature stiffened the sanction for 

driving with a license suspended or revoked due to multiple 

prior DWI or refusal convictions."  State v. Carrigan, 428 N.J. 

Super. 609, 613 (App. Div.), certif. denied, 213 N.J. 539 

(2013).  Because the Legislature placed this offense within the 

criminal code, upgrading a motor vehicle violation to a crime, 

we must review the sentence imposed pursuant to the provisions 

of Title 2C and not those of Title 39, which governs motor 

vehicle offenses.  

Title 39 permits the judge in a third or subsequent DWI 

sentence to suspend the last half of the required 180-day term 

of imprisonment to allow the defendant to enter a "drug or 

alcohol inpatient rehabilitation program[.]"  N.J.S.A. 39:4-

50(a)(3).  The prior Title 39 sanctions for driving during a 

period of license suspension after multiple DWI convictions 

included a mandatory jail term of between ten and ninety days.  

N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(f)(2).  No suspension of the jail sentence to 
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enter a program was permitted for this offense even under Title 

39.  

We have stated when disapproving the use of commutation 

credits to reduce a thirty-year mandatory minimum sentence for a 

murder conviction that "[t]he use of the term 'not eligible for 

parole' in a sentencing statute unquestionably denotes a 

mandatory minimum sentence."  Merola v. Dep't of Corr., 285 N.J. 

Super. 501, 507 (App. Div. 1995), certif. denied, 143 N.J. 519 

(1996).  Title 2C does not allow a judge sentencing discretion 

to impose a lesser period of incarceration when a mandatory 

minimum term is required, absent specific language to that 

effect.  State v. Lopez, 395 N.J. Super. 98, 107-08 (App. Div.) 

(reversing the sentence of a defendant who received a kidnapping 

sentence of seven years' imprisonment with an eighty-five 

percent parole disqualifier, less than the statutorily required 

twenty-five year term without the possibility of parole, because 

"when the Legislature has enacted a mandatory minimum term for 

the commission of a crime, the 'courts have no power' to impose 

a sentence that, in length or form, is different from that 

plainly provided in the statute" (citing State v. Des Marets, 92 

N.J. 62, 64-65 (1983)), certif. denied, 192 N.J. 596 (2007).  In 

Des Marets, Chief Justice Wilentz opined:  

We do not pass on the wisdom of this 

legislation's mandatory . . . imprisonment 
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term or the wisdom of its imposition on the 

offenses covered.  That is a matter solely 

for the Legislature to decide.  Once the 

Legislature has made that decision, and has 

made it within constitutional bounds, our 

sole function is to carry it out.  Judges 

have no business imposing their views of 

"enlightened" sentencing on society, 

including notions of discretionary, 

individualized treatment, when the 

Legislature has so clearly opted for 

mandatory prison terms for all offenders.  

It may be that the Legislature is more 

enlightened than the judges.  Our clear 

obligation is to give full effect to the 

legislative intent, whether we agree or not. 

 

[Des Marets, supra, 92 N.J. at 65-66 

(footnote and citation omitted).] 

 

Defendant argues that State v. Kyc, 261 N.J. Super. 104 

(App. Div. 1992), certif. denied, 133 N.J. 436 (1993), 

inferentially permits a judge to sentence a defendant to an 

inpatient rehabilitation program in lieu of jail.  In Kyc, 

however, we held only that a defendant who absconded from a 

"Pre-Parole Home Confinement Program" was still in the custody 

of the Department of Corrections and could therefore be charged 

with the crime of escape, N.J.S.A. 2C:29-5(a).  Id. at 106-110.  

We did not hold that a judge may impose a sentence of an 

inpatient program when mandatory minimum incarceration is 

statutorily required. 

We must interpret a statute based on its plain meaning.  

State v. Drury, 190 N.J. 197, 209 (2007).  When the Legislature 
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intends an exception to a mandatory minimum sentence for a 

fourth-degree crime, specific language allows the judge to waive 

the parole disqualifier under the circumstances set forth in the 

exception.  See N.J.S.A. 2C:43-6.5(c) (granting the court 

discretion under certain limited circumstances to waive or 

reduce the mandatory minimum term for a public employee 

convicted of certain crimes, including fourth-degree crimes for 

which a one-year mandatory minimum would ordinarily apply); see 

also N.J.S.A. 2C:35-14(b)(3) (permitting a sentence of "special 

probation" for persons convicted pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:35-7, 

of distribution or possession with intent to distribute drugs in 

a school zone, who would otherwise be subject to a mandatory 

minimum period of incarceration). 

N.J.S.A. 2C:40-26(b) is not the only fourth-degree crime 

that requires, without exception, a mandatory minimum period of 

incarceration.  Fourth-degree reckless endangerment, N.J.S.A. 

2C:12-2(b)(2), requires a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment 

of not less than six months when the offense is committed by 

surreptitiously inducing a person to ingest poisonous or 

intoxicating food or drink.  

 Defendant was sentenced to an illegal sentence in two ways.  

First, and most significantly, no discretion exists in Title 2C 

to replace half of the mandatory 180 days of incarceration with 
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a non-jail rehabilitation program.  Second, a sentence to an 

inpatient rehabilitative program is not authorized by Title 2C 

except as a condition of probation.  N.J.S.A. 2C:45-1(b)(1)-(14) 

(listing the conditions of probation a judge may require of a 

defendant). 

 Reversed and remanded for resentencing.  We do not retain 

jurisdiction. 

 

 

 


