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Continuing Legal Education Requirement for 2011 Newly Admitted New Jersey Lawyers 

 
Every active lawyer is required to complete 24 credit hours of continuing legal education (CLE) every 2 years.  
Of those 24 credits, at least 4 credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism.  A “newly admitted lawyer” is 
defined by the Board on Continuing Legal Education (Board) as a lawyer who becomes an active member of 
the New Jersey bar for the first time.   
 
Within the general 24 credit CLE requirement, a newly admitted lawyer with a plenary license in New Jersey 
must obtain 15 credit hours in any 5 of the following 9 subject areas during the newly admitted lawyer’s first 
full two-year compliance period: New Jersey basic estate administration; New Jersey basic estate planning; 
New Jersey civil or criminal trial preparation; New Jersey family law practice; New Jersey real estate closing 
procedures; New Jersey trust and business accounting; New Jersey landlord/tenant practice; New Jersey 
municipal court practice; and New Jersey law office management.  Newly admitted attorneys with a limited 
license do not have to take the 15-credit new admit coursework. 
 
New Jersey attorneys are permitted to take up to 1/2 of their required CLE credit hours in a compliance period 
through approved courses offered in alternative verifiable learning (AVL) formats.  AVL format courses 
include videotape, audiotape, on-line internet computer presentations, satellite simulcasts, teleconferencing, 
videoconferencing, internet computer self-study, or other type of remote learning format authorized by the 
Board.  At least 12 credits must be taken live with an instructor in the room.  If an attorney neither works nor 
lives in a mandatory CLE jurisdiction, he or she may take all ALV format courses.  If an attorney is living and 
working out of state and cannot obtain the live courses related to the new admit subject areas, he or she may 
apply for a waiver of the live requirement.  In addition, a newly admitted lawyer may obtain credit for CLE 
courses taken after his or her graduation from law school but before admission to the New Jersey bar towards 
their first compliance reporting period, so long as those courses were taken no more than 12 months prior to 
the lawyer’s date of admission to the New Jersey bar. 
 
The first compliance reporting period for newly admitted lawyers begins January 1 of the year immediately 
following admission to the New Jersey bar.  Newly admitted lawyers are automatically assigned to a 
compliance group based on their respective birthdays.  For lawyers who were admitted to the New Jersey bar 
in 2011, your CLE requirement will begin on January 1, 2012. 
 
Compliance Group 1: If your birthday occurs during the period from January 1 though June 30, you are in 
Compliance Reporting Group 1.  Newly admitted lawyers in Compliance Group 1 must obtain 24 credit hours 
by December 31, 2013 and will certify compliance in the 2014 annual attorney registration and billing process 
either on-line or on the paper form.  At least 4 of the 24 credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism, at 
least 15 credits must be in any 5 of the 9 New Jersey specific subject areas for newly admitted lawyers, and the 
balance of credits may be in any legal, judicial, or other educational activity approved for CLE. 
 
Compliance Group 2: If your birthday occurs during the period from July 1 through December 31, you are in 
Compliance Reporting Group 2 and will have a one year transitional reporting period.  Therefore, you must 



obtain 12 credit hours by December 31, 2012 and will certify compliance in the 2013 annual attorney 
registration and billing process either on-line or on the paper form.  That certification must be submitted no 
later than the date the annual attorney registration first billing is due.  Of the 12 required credits, at least 2 
credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism, and at least 6 must be obtained from your attendance at 
courses where the instructors are in the same room as the participants.  In your next compliance period that 
will begin on January 1, 2013 and end on December 31, 2014, you will be required to obtain 24 credits and 
meet the specific new admit requirement.  At least 4 of the 24 credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism, 
at least 15 credits must be in any 5 of the 9 New Jersey specific subject areas for newly admitted lawyers, and 
the balance of credits in any legal, judicial, or other educational activity approved for CLE.   
 
The chart below may assist you in determining your CLE requirement for your first two compliance reporting 
periods based on your date of plenary admission to the New Jersey bar and your compliance group.  Newly 
admitted lawyers with a limited license may use this chart but are not required to meet the 15 credit new admit 
coursework. 

Compliance Group 1 (birthdays from January 1 through June 30) 

 
Year 
Admitted 

 
Requirement 
Begins 

 
First Compliance Reporting Period 

 
Second Compliance Reporting Period 

2010 January 1, 2011 12 credits by 12/31/11 
Transitional reporting period 

24 credits by 12/31/13 
Must complete new admit requirement 

2011 January 1, 2012 24 credits by 12/31/13 
Must complete new admit requirement  

24 credits by 12/31/15 

2012 January 1, 2013 12 credits by 12/31/13 
Transitional reporting period 

24 credits by 12/31/15 
Must complete new admit requirement 

2013 January 1, 2014 24 credits by 12/31/15 
Must complete new admit requirement 

24 credits by 12/31/17 

2014 January 1, 2015 12 credits by 12/31/15 
Transitional reporting period 

24 credits by 12/31/17 
Must complete new admit requirement 

 
Compliance Group 2 (birthdays from July 1 through December 31) 

 
Year 
Admitted 

 
Requirement 
Begins 

 
First Compliance Reporting Period 

 
Second Compliance Reporting Period 

2010 January 1, 2011 24 credits by 12/31/12 
Must complete new admit requirement 

24 credits by 12/31/14 

2011 January 1, 2012 12 credits by 12/31/12 
Transitional reporting period 

24 credits by 12/31/14 
Must complete new admit requirement 

2012 January 1, 2013 24 credits by 12/31/14 
Must complete new admit requirement 

24 credits by 12/31/16 

2013 January 1, 2014 12 credits by 12/31/14 
Transitional reporting period 

24 credits by 12/31/16 
Must complete new admit requirement 

2014 January 1, 2015 24 credits by 12/31/16 
Must complete new admit requirement 

24 credits by 12/31/18 

“Transitional reporting period” means that you have a one-year period to obtain 12 credits.  At least 2 of the credits must be in ethics 
and/or professionalism and the balance of credits in any legal, judicial, or other educational activity accredited by the Board or 
another mandatory CLE jurisdiction.  No more than 6 of the 12 credits can be earned from AVL format courses. 
 
“Must complete new admit requirement” means that during this 2-year reporting period you must obtain 24 credits.  Of those 24 
credits, at least 4 credits in must be in ethics and/or professionalism, 15 credits in any 5 of the 9 New Jersey subject areas, and the 
balance of credits in any legal, judicial, or other educational activity accredited by the Board.  No more than 12 of the 24 credits can 
be earned from AVL format courses. 


